Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 10

March 6, 2009 § 13 Comments

My quilt and I have become very intimate from the sewing & ripping and sewing & ripping that has been going on this week.  I don’t know if it is in a good way.  But I am happy to say that I finally stitched the last piece of the border on this afternoon.

The quilt is so big now that I have no place to hang it or lay it for a good photograph.  So I pinned it up on the pergola in the back of our house.  And to think that there are still two more borders! Thankfully, quilts shrink a smidge in size when all the quilting is finally done.

This border is a repeat of Border 2 and Border 5.  If you have been making the Angled Bricks like Jennifer’s quilt, please continue on with that.  As for the rest of you, for the sake of repetition, I haven’t photographed every step. You can refer to the instructions for the previous two borders.

Border Stats:

  • Finished block size – 3″ square
  • Finished width of border – 3″
  • Yardage requirements – 5/8 yard for dark squares and 1/2 yard each of medium & light fabric for the half-square triangles.  Less if you are using the Easy Angle ruler.
  • Width of quilt after this border – 78 1/2″ x 78 1/2″

border12-2

1.  Cut (50) 3 1/2″ squares from a dark fabric.  For the half-square triangles, determine which method you wish to use:

  • Cutting squares, sewing, cutting in half, and trimming as in Border 2.  Cut 4″ squares and proceed with Border 2 instructions.
  • Using Thangles as in Border 5.  Cut 3 1/2″ strips and proceed with Thangles instructions.
  • Using the Easy Angle as in Border 8b.  cut 3 1/2″ strips and proceed with Easy Angle instructions.

You will need a total of 50 half-square triangles.  As you can see, I chose the Easy Angle ruler again.  And, since this is a wider border, I decided to press the seams towards the darker triangle this time.

border12-3

Here’s a little quilting tip that I learned in a class some time ago.  When starting a seam, use a small scrap of fabric folded in half as a leader to chain piecing your blocks.  You know how threads often get bunched up on the bottom when you start?  Doing this step will leave the bunchy, knotty threads on the scrap fabric and give a clean start and finish on your block.

Cut the scrap fabric off and use it the next time you start another seam. When the scrap is too full of threads, throw it away and start with another small scrap.

border12-4

2.  After sewing and ripping and sewing the borders a couple of times, I figured the easiest way to put this border together without having to fight the size, was to arrange the blocks for each border in a clockwise order. Then one border at a time, sew the blocks together and attach them to the quilt.

  1. Start at the top, arrange the alternating squares and half-square triangles.  Sew 24 blocks together. Attach to the quilt.
  2. Going clockwise around the quilt, continue arranging the alternating squares and half-square triangles.  Sew 25 blocks together and attach to the quilt.
  3. Again, arrange and sew 25 blocks together, attaching the border to the quilt.
  4. And finally, arrange the remaining 26 blocks  and attach the border to the quilt.

Viola! You are finished.  Can you believe that there are only two more borders left before we are finished?  My, that last year went fast!  I’m already having bittersweet feelings. I’m going to miss this monthly meeting with you all!!!  But I am also anxious to be finished with this quilt.  Sigh.

§ 13 Responses to Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 10

  • njquilter24 says:

    it looks beautiful..well worth your time.
    Oh no maybe you just need to find another quilt to reproduce and share with all of us. Please!
    Kathie

  • Jane Weston says:

    It looks stunning…and I love the *location* that you chose to photography it…very pretty!

  • AJ in AZ says:

    I need to stop working on my Eureka log cabin and catch up with this one again. It is on my design wall and so pretty but I am 2 borders back by now.
    I know everybody gets the same number of hours in a day, but I want more!!

  • woolywumpus says:

    just beautiful, Anita! this border was well worth the extra sewing and ripping – it’s lovely.

  • Ardis Bucy says:

    Now behind by 2 borders but I need to get a handle on my Civil War Sampler that is in the middle of the machine quilting process. Your Medallion is wonderful. I will catch up soon as I love this quilt.

    Ardis
    Rogue River

  • pratima says:

    Totally awesome! Thank you very much Anita.
    I’m taking a break for a few months on this quilt to finish off a couple of other quilts with deadlines.
    Really sorry about that.
    Can’t wait to start working on it soon.

  • Candace says:

    Anita – your medallion is becoming a real stunner! And your photography is fantastic! It’s hard to believe two more borders will be attached – I can’t wait to see them.
    I’ve learned to use the “scrap leader” from a PBS quilting show many years ago and am never without them for any project! I’ve been saving all the filled up scraps in a glass jar – just need to figure out what fun thing to do with them!
    Cheers!

  • Tami says:

    I love it! I can’t believe how big it is. How’s the weather up yonder? Down here we have been seeing snow off and on for a few days now. Nothing accumulating but snow none the less. I’m afraid my poor daffs and tulips that have begun to poke their little heads up are in quite a state of shock!

  • What a beautiful quilt! I may have to do one like this….

  • Cheryl says:

    I’ve thoroughly enjoyed working this medallion quilt along with you; not to say I’ve kept up but it has been a learning experience for me.
    Thank you for sharing!

  • Nicki says:

    Just found this today, March 16. This looks like such a fun project, just the type of quilt I like to conquer. I can’t wait to start it! I would like to know, though, when and what is your next project? I sit here, salivating and rubbing my hands together as I await your answer .
    Thanks for the sheer joy I feel others are having completing this project. Kudos to you for sharing this with us, for FREE!!

  • mary heine says:

    who is viola?

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 10 at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

