Something to keep you occupied

February 27, 2009 § 8 Comments

new books

New Books - 2 for me and 1 from the library

Some blogging break, eh?

I just finished painting today.  Hazzah!  I’m ready to purge, organize, and move it all back in.  And I’m dying to sew something.

As for yesterday? I freely admit that I have become a weather wimp.  I blame it on Seattle.  Rain I can handle.  Sub-zero or snowy weather… I have been spoiled forever!

So, to keep you all from getting bored while I’m organizing… and purging… and shifting piles around….  (hopefully, there will be a complete elimination of piles.  I’m doubtful….)  let me tempt you with these books.

Aurora by Jane Kirkpatrick

I first discovered Jane Kirkpatrick several years ago on a camping road trip.  We were driving through Oregon on our way back home and we stopped to look for some lunch in some small town in the middle of nowhere.  There were a few books next to the register and one had a sticker saying Local Author.  I was intrigued. Since then, I have come to thoroughly enjoy Jane’s books.  They are historical novels built around actual events.  This book explores the quilts and crafts of Aurora Village, founded in Oregon by a religious sect searching for a new life out west.  Quilting history always fascinates me!

Material Obsession by Kathy Doughty & Sarah Fielke

I have been anxiously waiting for this book to be released in the U.S.  Ever since I discovered the blog of this Australian quilt shop, I have been head over heels in love.  Their quilting style is refreshing and creative!  And they have a second book in the works.  Be still my little Featherweight

You can peek at the quilts in the book here.  And you can see more of their quilts on Flickr.

Designing the New Kitchen Garden by Jennifer Bartley

Potager gardening intriques me.  I’m not convinced that I, myself, could be a very good urban gardener. I still don’t understand our growing season. But I LOVE the idea of being able to walk out my back door to pick fruits, vegetables and herbs for our next meal.  For the most part, herbs grow really well around here. It’s the vegetables I have a hard time with. It never really gets that hot in the summer.

This book grabbed my attention at the NW Flower & Garden show.  It makes me want to dig up the entire back yard and create a potager garden.  Please make me wait until I have put my sewing studio back in order!

§ 8 Responses to Something to keep you occupied

  • Liz says:

    I have another book for you to look at before you dig up your yard. “Lasagna gardening” – instead of digging up an area, you layer wet newspapers, organic material, etc and let time kill the grass and other seeds. When you turn up soil, you can actually be exposing thousands of weed seeds and encouraging them to start growing. You could use this technique along with a raised garden bed. There are lots of cool weather veggies (lettuce for example) that would grow beautifully in your neck of the world. I need to start my lettuce now and hope it doesn’t get too hot too soon. My niece tried a herbal window box (she is in Seattle) and they were beautiful looking. Give it a try!

    Here is the link to Amazon. She also has books on herb gardening as well as gardening in small spaces.

    http://www.amazon.com/Lasagna-Gardening-Layering-Bountiful-Gardens/dp/0875969623/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1235772820&sr=8-1

  • So glad you did it! I hope it goes back in easily🙂

    We have the opposite problem here . . .when it rains the kids complain that they are getting wet, but snow and freezing temps are hardly noticed. Guess it depends on what you are used to!

    Have a good weekend sorting and purging!

  • woolywumpus says:

    Finished? Already? Goodness, girl, you’re fast!

    Don’t you just love a chance to put everything back in it’s place and to toss the stuff you don’t need? It just feels sooooo good. Thanks for the book recommendations – I love Material Obession’s Flickr pages!

  • amy says:

    Thanks for the book recommendations–that Jane Kirkpatrick book sounds very interesting! I want to make a “road trip” to Material Obsession some day. Wanna come with?? I can’t even venture down the garden(ing) path. I am only successful at growing ivy on the back of the commercial building on the other side of our yard. sigh

  • Helen says:

    I have the Material Obsession book too, its lovely. I didn’t know they had a second book soon, thanks for the tip!

  • jacquie says:

    i lost your blog on my reader…who knows what happened…can’t wait to see the new and refreshed studio. what a great idea for spring cleaning!

  • Scott says:

    Love that Material Obsession book myself as well…beautifully laid out and fun easy enough designs.

  • Sarah says:

    Hey thanks everyone for the nice comments on the book – and thanks so much for blogging about it! I’m so glad you like it. The second book is out on May 1 in Australia. Come and see my new blog at http://www.thelastpiece.net

    Sarah Fielke

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Something to keep you occupied at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

