Studio S.O.S.

February 22, 2009 § 11 Comments

North & East facing walls.

North & East facing walls*

I’m feeling the need to move everything out of my sewing room to paint, clean and reorganize.  It’s no longer fun to spend time in this room.  But the whole thought of removing everything, painting and then putting everything back is a wee bit overwhelming at the moment.

West and north facing walls.

West and north facing walls*

I’m wondering if I put myself on a forced blog break, if I could actually follow through and do something about it?  Maybe I’ll be back in a few days with nothing done.  Or, maybe I’ll be back in a week or so with this room completely reorganized.  Hmmmm.  Wanna place bets?

*Click on the photos to go to the Flickr images that contain notes.

§ 11 Responses to Studio S.O.S.

  • Rachel says:

    I feel your pain. My sewing room is small and crowded and I’m trying to clean it out. What a job! But your room is lovely – lots of potential with all those shelves and the big window. I love your cutting nook, too.

  • terriaw says:

    Your studio looks fabulous but I know what you mean. I have felt like redoing mine too, but the moment passed! Keep us posted!

  • I bet you will feel so refreshed walking in there with fresh paint and rearranged! Hope you do it!🙂

  • amy says:

    You can do it! A year or so ago, I ran across a photo of some room or other. It was unrecognizable as my sewing room and had been taken just after I set up the room. Now it’s so overrun with stuff…ack.

  • woolywumpus says:

    I guess all sewing/project rooms look the same. What a relief! Except for the bunnies. Note to self: Get some bunnies!

  • janet clare says:

    I am just settling in to my first ever sewing room (I sewed on the dining room table and had fabric, books etc in every other room in the house before) and have been forced to clear out, throw away and recycle loads and loads of old fabric, yarn, books etc that I just couldn’t fit into my little room. Now, I only have lovely things around me, and feel completely refreshed and inspired by the whole painful experience.
    I say go for it and be totally ruthless!

  • Liz says:

    Go for it – and take plenty of in-progress pictures.

    I am repurposing a couple of rooms at the moment. What’s amazing is that everything looks worse for a while. My hallway was a walking hazard and I kept a small light on at night to prevent a tripping accident. And then, order emerges and it is sweet!

    Of course, with a sewing room and stash closet, it gets messy again.

    I have a high shelf above my desk in my office, filled with childhood toys. So, I understand your comment about the dust up there. I recently cleaned up there after some heavy traffic outside shook the items and the softball came down, narrowly missing me and the laptop.

  • isabel says:

    Good luck and, if you succed, you can help me doing the same thing on mine.😉

  • pratima says:

    I love your window… and the shelves are awesome…lots of possibilities! You have a cute space!! It would be so refreshing and lovely when it’s done🙂

  • stevesmelody says:

    Have fun with it!

    fwiw – I have found that if I do sections of a room at a time it isn’t so overwhelming.

  • Candace says:

    My bet is you’ll do it Anita – I mean, won’t you need more room for all your purchases from next weekend’s Sew Expo? LOL!! Have fun and can’t wait to see the result!
    Cheers!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Studio S.O.S. at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

