Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 9 – Flying Geese

February 16, 2009 § 19 Comments

Woohoo!  It’s here! The infamous Flying Geese border!  And it is making me happy.  This shot of bright pink/red is just what I needed.  And it’s gotten so big that I had to lay it out on the driveway today. It no longer fits on the floor of a room in the house.

How are all of you doing?

The Stats:

  • Finished block size – 2 1/4″ x 4 1/2″ **
  • Finished width of border -4 1/2″
  • Quilt width after this border – 72 1/2″ square
  • Yardage requirements – 1 yard light for geese (Companion Angle) and 1 yard dark for sky (Easy Angle). If you want to use the Border 3 method to construct the geese you will need 1 1/4 yards for the geese and 1 1/3 yards for the sky.

border11

1. For the “sky” or half-square triangles, cut (11) 2 3/4″ strips from the width of fabric. From the strips, and using the Easy Angle, cut 224 half-square triangles.   2 3/4″ is an in-between measurement on these rulers. 2 1/2″ is marked and 3″ is marked.  Use the dotted line between these two lines for the 2 3/4″ measurement.

border11-2

2. For the “geese”, cut (10) 2 3/4″ strips from the width of fabric. From the strips, and using the Companion Angle, cut 112 triangles. Again, this measurement is in-between 4″ and 5″. Use the dotted line between these two lines for the 4 1/2″ measurement.

border11-3

3. For me, this is the fun part. I like to sit down and chain-piece one side, block after block, then press the seams open and sew the other side.

That purple strip on my sewing machine is a piece of vinyl plastic called a Qtools Sewing Edge by Alicia’s Attic.  I use it to ensure that I am sewing a 1/4″ seam. I have a 1/4″ foot, but it seems a little bent.  This was a much cheaper solution for me than replacing the foot. The package says that the vinyl won’t leave any sticky residue on your machine, which is important in preserving the finish on these older machines.

border11-4

Make 28 flying geese blocks for each side of the quilt, for a total of 112 flying geese blocks.  I’m still pressing the seams open, for the most part. It seems to help a little in keeping the bulk to a minimum.

border11-5

4. For the Square-in-a-Square blocks in the corners, cut (4) 5″ squares from a lighter fabric and (16) 2 3/4″ squares from a darker fabric.

I know that this method is a little bit more wasteful of fabric, but it gives easier dimensions to work with. We could save some fabric by cutting the center square exactly and cutting the corners into triangles.  But for only 4 blocks, this method seems the easiest and fastest. If I was making a whole quilt of square-in-a-square blocks, I would probably choose a different construction method that would use less fabric.

border11-6

5.  Mark the diagonal on the wrong side of each of the 2 3/4″ squares, first sewing 2 opposing corners and trimming to a 1/4″ seam allowance.  Then sew the other two remaining corners.  You may refer back to Border 1 for a refresher on how to piece these blocks.

Only 3 more borders to go!

6. Sew the side borders to the quilt first. Then sew the Square-in-a-Square blocks to each end of the top and bottom borders. Sew the top and bottom borders to your quilt. You should now have a quilt that measures 72 1/2″square.

Can you believe it?  Only three more borders to go.  Also, how do you all feel about the Prairie Points around the outside. Do we want to do those as well?

**  Edited to add: Yes, it’s true. The blocks are 2 1/4″ x 4 1/2″.  If you sew two blocks together, it would be square.  These last few borders are posing a challenge to end up with whole blocks on the ends rather than partial blocks.  The result is these funny measurements.  The beginning borders were nearly all divisible by 2.  But now that I’ve made some of the outer borders larger, they aren’t always nicely divisible like the earlier ones were.  I hope it’s not confusing anyone!

§ 19 Responses to Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 9 – Flying Geese

  • Renee says:

    Love this!!
    The pink is a super shot of colour. 🙂

  • Ann Champion says:

    I love it! AND we got it a little early. Woohoo..she’s looking like a quilt now!😉

    The prairie points..I probably won’t do them..because I’m a fabric miser.. and I think there’s so much going on in this quilt..it doesn’t need them?

  • Melody says:

    Very nice! I love it!

  • Nancy says:

    Your quilt is just great, Anita. Love the pink. And that’s a lot of flying geese! Oh boy!!

    I agree with Ann, I won’t be doing the prairie points because I don’t think the quilt needs them. It would be too much, if that’s possible with this quilt…

    I’m somewhat further along than I have posted on flickr. I need to get photos up.

  • Terriaw says:

    This looks amazing! You make it seem so east to do that I just might try it.

  • Meredith says:

    Wow. It looks great. Enjoy adding the borders. I am not a fan of prairie points so I would skip them. Since it is your quilt it is up to you. Another plus it would be done even faster………….

  • janet clare says:

    …yet another border behind! But the good news is that we have a small double bed and the quilt will swamp it if I make all the borders, so I may have to leave out the last one or two anyway.

    That quilt is stunning. Love the pink too.

    Yes to the prairie point (they will be the icing on the cake) although they will probably reduce me to tears trying to get them neat and even.

  • pratima says:

    Chocolate frosting with cherry topping.. yum!!😉 hahaha… It is so so pretty!
    Thank you Anita, for another great border.

    I would love to try Prairie points. I’ve never tried them before and it would be a great way to learn about them.

  • Ardis Bucy says:

    wonderful! This is a great quilt. I am doing mine in blue and white. Your shot of pink is tempting. Prairie Points optional although I have never done them and should probably have the experience. Thanks for all the inspiration.
    Ardis in Rogue River, Oregon

  • Ardis Bucy says:

    a question: are these geese really 2 1/4 in. by 4 1/2 and not 2 1/2??????

  • Candace says:

    LOVE the pink, Anita! Prairie points would really be cool, too – a lot of work, but then you’ve already done so much work so far, why not!
    Cheers!

  • Lily Boot says:

    gorgeous anita! it is truly looking beautiful – you’ve done a beautiful job and you’re right about the pink – adds so much life to the quilt.

  • Randi says:

    That quilt is amazing! Great work!

  • woolywumpus says:

    Anita, this pink border is so lovely and so unexpected! Beautiful! It seems like every border you add becomes my new fave!

  • isabel says:

    Gorgeous!
    Some of this days I’ll restart mine.

  • Ardis Bucy says:

    Thanks for the information on the size. It didn’t sound “normal,” whatever that might be. Your explanation made perfect sense. I am happy that the borders are now wider. The quilt is getting bigger quicker! You are awesome and patient.

    with gratitude.

    Ardis in Rogue River, Oregon

  • AJ in AZ says:

    I still wanted to get rid of all those extra flying geese from a previous border, so I used them instead of making all new ones in one fabric, so my look is still not really pulled together like yours. I will see what I think about it when I start on the next border.

  • AJ in AZ says:

    PS. That means my size is now off from yours and I will have to measure everything myself. Oh well, my challenge has been to use scraps already stripped or cut, and I am still sticking to it.

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    Just thought I would document my progress here :o) I am currently sewing the final side of the flying geese border onto my quilt…I LOVE IT!! I had a real oops when I attached the third side. I didn’t look at the direction the geese were pointed in before I pinned the border on. As I was ironing it I noticed…out cam the seam ripper and some agrivated grumbles. But, now it is reattached and all is well again.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 9 – Flying Geese at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

