Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 8b – Half Square Triangles

January 28, 2009 § 8 Comments

How are you all doing? This quilt is growing at a rapid rate now, isn’t it! I’ve started making the borders a little wider than in the beginning. It just feels like they should be wider.  And, I always try to find a border measurement that divides nicely into an even number of blocks.

I’m having mixed feelings about my quilt.  Some days I like it.  And other days I wish I could take it apart and start over again.  I think it’s because these are stash-busting fabrics. It was my original goal to only use fabrics I have on hand.  And right now… I’m really into bright colors, not these muted tones that have been in my stash forever.  It must be the mid-winter, nearly February blues. Ask me again in March if I feel the same way.

Also, I think there may be a few new Quilt-Alongers joining us.  Welcome!  Please feel free to join the Flickr group and share your progress. No matter where you are in the process.  It’s so great to see how different each quilt is. And we’d love to ooh and aah over your creation!

This border is a repeat of Border 4. You may use that method of construction if you prefer. But I will be using the Easy Angle again as in the last border.  To me, it feels like the construction goes faster. And these borders are getting bigger and taking more time. Right now… anything to speed it up a bit!

The Stats:

  • Half Square Triangles – finished block size – 3 1/2″.
  • Finished width of border -3 1/2″.
  • Quilt width after this border – 63 1/2″ square.
  • Yardage requirements – 1  yard total.  If you use the Border 4 instructions, you will need 1 1/8 yards total.

Okay… here we go.

border10-1

1. Cut (8)  4-inch width-of-fabric strips in a variety of fabric.  I cut half  from a light fabric and the half from a darker fabric.  But they could be a lot closer in value as well.

**If you choose to use the instructions in Border 4 instead, then cut (8)  4 1/2″ strips.  From the 4 1/2″ strips, cut (32) 4 1/2″ squares each from the light and dark fabrics. Continue using the Border 4 instructions, trimming the half-square triangles to 4″ before sewing the border blocks together.

border10-2

2.  From the strips, cut 64 half-square triangles each of  light values and dark values… or whatever combination of values that you have chosen for a total of 128 triangles before sewing.

Lay a light fabric on top of a dark fabric, placing right sides together and sew a 1/4″ seam along the diagonal edge. Press the seams open.

border10-3

3. Arrange 16 half-square triangles along each side of the quilt center to create a light and dark diagonal pattern. Sew the left side and the right side together first.  Press the seams open.  Attach each side to the quilt center.  Press the seams towards the outside edge of the quilt.

border10-4

4.  For the corner blocks cut (4) 4″ x 4″ squares from a lighter fabric and (16) 2 1/4″ x 2 1/4″ squares from a darker fabric.  These blocks are the fabulous, reliable Square-in-a-Square, again. Refer back to Border 1 for a refresher on how to piece these blocks.

5.  Sew the top and bottom border squares together.  Then sew a corner square-in-a-square block to each end of the top and bottom borders.  Sew the top and bottom borders to the quilt.

Your quilt should now measure 63 1/2″ square.  Next up, in a couple of weeks…  the long anticipated Flying Geese border.

And a big Thank YOU to all of you for being so enthusiastic about this quilt. It is just the motivation and accountability that I have needed to keep going!

§ 8 Responses to Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 8b – Half Square Triangles

  • Candace says:

    I really like this quilt, Anita! Having the lighter colors in the center and the darker borders outside is not only striking, but pulls the eye from center to borders well! I think its hard to get excited about anything in the winter darkness – I for one can hardly wait for daylight savings time to kick in! Thanks for the terrific tutorial – I purchased an Easy Angle a while back and plan to try it out on the remainer of my Winter Wonderland blocks!
    Cheers!

  • pratima says:

    I’m loving the brown on the outer borders. It looks as though laced with a chocolate frosting. So delicious!
    Thanks so much for the great instructions.

  • movinghands says:

    Looks great! Everyone needs the continued motivation, and it is nice to see so many new photos added to the Flickr group. No denying that this is a fun quilt. The borders just take longer now, but the gratification after finishing one is the same. 🙂 I think I will do diamonds again for this border.

  • Jackie says:

    I love your quilt. Sounds like you need some sunshine!

  • Kathy says:

    I think it’s gorgeous Anita. I’m 3 borders behind but still loving the process and the opportunity to see everyones beautiful work.

  • Julia says:

    Hi Anita,
    your medallion quilt grows beautifully! I love all the HST borders…
    I hope your winter blues is soon only a memory – there will be spring…eventually ;o)…and then I hope you love your quilt as I do {but I know what you mean…our stash sometimes just don’t reflect our current taste anymore…}
    Have a great week,
    julia

  • Ann Champion says:

    Keep going Anita. Once the warmer weather is here these calm colors will look good to you again…I’m sure! If not…shall I send you my address so I can take this away from you? LOL
    I have fabrics in my stash too, that aren’t my current taste..so I know how you are feeling, but this truly is a wonderful quilt.😉 If it wasn’t wonderful..would so many of us be following along with you on this journey?
    With this round we are waaay beyond lap quilt size. Wheeee!!!

  • Michelle (ravelry:michelleinseattle) says:

    Anita – I just had to check in – I am not abandoning the project!!!! I tell myself!!! But have been busy with other things these past few months – I still intend to catch up – off to see the photos on Flickr and see how everyone is doing!!!!!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 8b – Half Square Triangles at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

