Brought to You by the Letter “M”

January 22, 2009 § 7 Comments

Raisin Bran Muffins

Raisin Bran Muffins

Once every so often I spend a day baking and cooking and stocking up the freezer.  Today was meatball and muffin day.  Preparing the meatballs ahead of time makes it easy to put together a meal when we are short on time and inspiration.

Meatballs

We now have 4 dozen meatballs for pasta (I alter the recipe a wee bit, using a mix of turkey & beef and adjusting the seasonings to our liking) and 7 dozen meatballs for Italian Wedding Soup (this has almost become a comfort food on a cold blustery day).  Comfort Food, by the way, is the theme of our Supper Club this month. I think I’m going to make Risotto.  That’s another food that is comforting on a cold and blustery day.  To me, it’s like an adult version of macaroni and cheese.  That’s not to say that I don’t love a good home-made Mac & Cheese as well!

... with banana this time.

... with banana this time.

Muffins

There is a local coffee shop that has the best bran muffins. Ever.  They are dense and satisfying like no other bran muffin I’ve ever had.  Most recipes I’ve tried are fluffy and light and not at all similar.  So…  I’ve been experimenting to try and recreate them at home.  These are close.  Today, I made them with banana.  But I’ve also used applesauce and pumpkin in them as well.  My husband likes to take these to work for an afternoon snack.  But they are great for breakfast too.

Medallions

I realized this week that January is nearly over and I haven’t done the second January Medallion Quilt Border yet.  I think we’ll have to move the second January border to February and have two February borders.  I hope you don’t mind.  We are SO close to that flying geese border that so many have been waiting for.

§ 7 Responses to Brought to You by the Letter “M”

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Brought to You by the Letter “M” at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

