January is for Catching-Up

January 19, 2009 § 7 Comments

Whats on my Design Wall.

What's on my Design Wall.

Or… I’m in a catching-up mood.  I’m not sure which it is.  These are just a few projects that are filling my days at the moment.

Left to right:

1. Brrrr Park by Minick & Simpson.

2.  the Civil War Love Letters Quilt club at my LQS. My goal was to make 2 blocks a month – I’m behind by 4 blocks.

3.  the red & white blocks from the Ravelry block swap.  I’ve decided to surround each block wonky log cabin style to use up some of my red & white scraps and eventually make it into a bigger Gees Bend style of quilt.

4.  Feathered Star Sampler by Marsha McCloskey that was started SO many years ago, before I really considered myself a quilter. I think it might make a nice future gift

5.  and… another Little Birds quilt for Katy.

Shhhh.  We won’t talk about all of the other unfinished projects lying around.  Only one step at a time towards catching up.  Then again, I may never truly catch up.  It just feels good to make some progress on these projects.

Thanks, Melody!

Thanks, Melody!

Also… Melody has been handing out Best Blog awards and she so kindly gave one to me.  Thank you so much, Melody!  I’m honored!

I’m supposed to pass this award on to three more people.  Oh, how does one choose only three?!?  There are so many good blogs out there. And I kinda like Melody’s approach.  How about three recently inspiring posts instead of three inspiring blogs?  You all have inspiring blogs!

In no particular order…

1. Jennifer and Jan go to the Tokyo International Quilt Festival.  I hope this doesn’t count as two because these two bloggers always inspire me. They are so lucky to be able to attend this quilt festival!  The quilts and the workmanship always make my jaw drop. How does one learn to quilt like that?

2. Malka recently finished a quilt that was a commissioned project.  She seems to take quilting to another level that I’ve never dreamed of.

3. Crocheting is not really my thing, but I recently stumbled across this post that makes me want to become better at it.  Lucy makes it looks so easy and charming and cozy!

Hope you all are having an inspiring and productive day!

§ 7 Responses to January is for Catching-Up

  • Erin K says:

    There is room right there on the bottom right for “Another for the birds quilt for Erin” I see the spot right there! haha.

    Looks like you have some LOVELY stuff coming up. Can’t wait to see it all.

  • movinghands says:

    Thanks, Anita! Your quilting inspires me, too. Now back to those flying geese…

  • Julia says:

    Hi Anita,
    wow, the feathered star sampler is going to be GORGEOUS from what I can see now. I always wanted to make a feathered star myself but I think this is (at least for now) far beyond my piecing skills… can’t wait to see your progress on your different projects, it’s always eye candy!
    Cheers, Julia

  • mathea says:

    I’ve been playing catch up lately too, but I’m considering letting myself be led astray by this post: http://craftnectar.com/2009/01/18/out-with-the-old/
    I love what’s up on your quilt wall, though so keep it up!

  • pratima says:

    Your design wall looks so pretty with the upcoming projects. Thank you for the inspiration links. They are awesome!

  • Trisha says:

    Fun to see what you are working on. Ahh, to have a design wall. Looks like it comes in handy. Love getting to see what you are doing with your Ravelry Red and White block swap!

  • Candace says:

    Oh my, and I thought I had a few projects going! They’re all fantastic, Anita! I had a chance to stop in Quiltworks NW this past weekend and saw your Brrr Park made up – that is quite a project! I also have a pattern from there I bought some time ago – Federal Houses – one of your red and whites is that block! I’m going to do it in red, white and blues. And I love the little bird quilt – what pattern is that? It would make a terrific gift for any occasion!
    Congrats on your award!
    Cheers!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading January is for Catching-Up at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

