Babette, She Torments Me

January 12, 2009 § 13 Comments

Babette Parts

Babette Parts

Someone asked me recently how my Babette Blanket was doing. Sigh. La Babette, she torments me.  It’s not so much the crocheting of the granny squares, but the sewing together that is slowing me down.  I took someone’s advice as I was browsing around the Internet, to sew them together with the mattress stitch.  Big. Mistake. It is the slowest method in the universe… at least in my hands.  Linda, who is also making Babette with me, is sewing them together with a whip stitch. So. Much. Easier.

The benefit of the mattress stitch is that the yarn buries itself in between the squares and you really can’t see it. The whip stitch is much more visible. I guess you have to pay the price.  Visible = fast.  Invisible = slow.

About 45% of Babette is finished

About 45% of Babette is finished

Linda and I had made a pact to crochet 11 squares a month so that we would be finishing up about now.  That agreement didn’t work so well. She is a little bit ahead of me. But not by much.  This will become a two-year project, I’m afraid.  We are determined to finish no matter how long it takes.

Babette yarn in a row

Babette yarn in a row

The one thing we both wish we would have done differently was to start with Cascade 220 yarn at the very beginning. We thought we should be a little frugal and ordered yarn from Elann.com and KnitPicks.com to save a few bucks. But we didn’t know how much yarn we would really need because the pattern calls for fingering weight not worsted weight.  Over the course of time, we have run out and have not be able to match up the colors of yarn very well.  We decided we didn’t want to order 1 or 2 skeins more at a time because of the cost of shipping. La Babette, she is truly becoming a scrappy afghan.

And there you have it. That’s the state of my Babette.

§ 13 Responses to Babette, She Torments Me

  • pratima says:

    It is gorgeous. Loving the scrappy look of it. But sorry to know that you’ve run into a few problems with the blanket😦

  • Katy says:

    Poor Babette, she’s a beauty though, isn’t she? And those invisible stitches seams will make you happy in years to come.

    Good things come to those who wait, and all that….!!!

  • Candace says:

    Anita, remember the old granny square afghans that were bordered in black? I helped my grandmother make one – it was my induction into the world of crochet! They take a long time to make, but that granny square afghan is still going strong over 50 years later! I’m glad you’re determined to keep going – it will be well worth it, and much more colorful!
    Cheers!

  • I think the tormenting will be worth it! She’s beautiful🙂

  • Jeannie says:

    Babette is a temptress and oh, so beautiful. Makes me want to dig out the crochet hooks. Have you thought about crocheting the squares together? I have done that with afghans in the past and it was much quicker. Hope you are having a sunny day. Cheers.

  • Tami says:

    But the colors are so cheerful on a gray day like today

  • Tamara says:

    It is beautiful though….I have just started a hexagon blanket and am crocheting them together as I go, which I am glad about because I fear that I would end up with lots of hexagons and no blanket:) I am sure you will be pleased with the end result….

  • amy says:

    Oh, the crochet is a torment in itself! But your Babette is looking lovely! I vowed to re-learn to crochet LAST year (or was that the year before). It didn’t stick and now I’m going to have to re-re-learn…

  • Lynne says:

    I just have to tell you, Tonni, that granny square blanket has been one of my favorites in blogland. I betcha can’t wait to get it done.!

  • Lynne says:

    Oops..sorry, Anita! Why I thought I was talking to Tonni, I’ll never know!

  • Melody says:

    Anita, I gave you an award! Come by my blog and pick it up!

  • kathryn says:

    Your post last year on the Babette is likely what pushed me to pursue making one. I’m afraid that my project has not fared much better. In fact, it all stays in a project bag and it only gets attention when the bag goes with me somewhere. Hmmmm… it really is a lovely project. I like the idea of a 2-year (maybe 3) plan. Good luck. It’s looking beautiful!

  • woolywumpus says:

    Go, Babette, go!! Congratulations on sticking with it. You’ll be so glad you did, and think of the great story that will accompany Babette from now on.

    Hope your surgery goes well! I’ll be thinking of you. I had the same surgery on my left knee and except for being on another planet on the day of the surgery, it was smooth sailing. I wish the same for you!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Babette, She Torments Me at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

