Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 8a – Zig Zag Flying Geese

January 3, 2009 § 13 Comments

With the addition of this border, the quilt started to feel huge… to me.  It’s become a “quilt”.  I know that’s crazy. It’s been a quilt all along. But this border makes it a good lap-sized quilt. One could stop here and feel satisfied.  And I have to admit, that without you as my support group, I just might have quit.  But I will persevere and march on to the end.  It will definitely be satisfying to reach the very, very last border. Won’t it?

The Stats:

  • Flying Geese blocks – finished size 2″ x 4″.  Sew 2 together to make a zig zig (4″ x 4″).
  • Border – finished width 4″.
  • Quilt width after this border – 56 1/2″ square.
  • Yardage requirements – 5/8 yard fabric of a each a light and a dark.  I did just barely squeak out the pieces from a half-yard.  But, if the width your fabric is different from mine, it might not work.  Also, if you choose a different method to make these flying geese blocks, it could potentially take twice as much as I have listed here.

We used a different method of constructing the previous Zig Zag border than what I will be describing below.  You can refer to Border 3b if you choose to use that method instead.

I used the Companion Angle and Easy Angle to cut the triangles for these flying geese blocks.  I have been using these rulers a lot lately.  There’s none of that adding 7/8″ to cut half-square triangles or adding 1 1/4″ to cut quarter-square triangles.  And especially in these flying geese blocks, it takes a lot less fabric.

border9-2

1.  Cut (8)  2 1/2″ width of fabric strips from each of the light and dark fabrics.  From (4) of the strips, cut 48 geese triangles.

border9-3

2.  From the remaining (4) strips, cut 96 half square triangles.  There is also a brief tutorial over here on using these rulers and alternate methods for making flying geese blocks.

border9-1

3. You should have 48 light triangles and 48 dark triangles for the geese part of the block,  and 96 light half-square triangles and 96 dark half-square triangles for the sky part of the block.

If you want to proceed using the Border 3b method of construction, cut (96) – 2 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ rectangles from each of the light and dark fabrics and (192) – 2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″ squares from each of the light and dark fabrics.

border9-4

4.  For each side, arrange 12 dark blocks in a row and 12 light blocks in a row to create the zig zag effect.

To sew the border together, start by sewing 1 dark block and 1 light block together to create a 4 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ square. Then, alternate pressing one block’s seam up and one block’s seam down. Sew together all 12 blocks in a border. Pressing the seams in opposite directions like this helps to make the matching of the seams a little bit easier. I always put a pin right on the seam to keep it in place until I have sewn the matching seams. Press these seams open as well.

border9-5

5.  For the corner blocks cut (4) 4 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ squares from a lighter fabric and (16) 2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″ squares from a darker fabric.

These blocks are the fabulous, reliable Square-in-a-Square, again. Refer back to Border 1 for a refresher on how to piece these blocks.

6.  Sew the side borders to the quilt first. Then sew the Square in a Square blocks to each end of the top and bottom borders. Sew the top and bottom borders to your quilt. You should now have a quilt that measures 56 1/2″ x 56 1/2″.

It’s even kitty approved.

§ 13 Responses to Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 8a – Zig Zag Flying Geese

  • Emily says:

    Marvelous! I really like your banner too!

  • Sophie says:

    Thanks Anita. I have caught up and look forward to adding this lovely border soon.

  • janet clare says:

    only 6 borders behind now- but I will catch up I promise. It is such a lovely quilt and is definitely not one to give up on.

  • Jane Weston says:

    Beautiful! I love the first picture.

    Makes me wish I had started this one with you :o)

  • Candace says:

    Anita, thanks for the tip on the Companion and Easy angles! I’ve been getting frustrated lately with flying geese blocks and I have both of these! The quilt is gorgeous – it’s really “getting a life” now!
    Cheers!

  • pratima says:

    Hi Anita, Thanks so much for the instructions.
    I’m a little behind, but hope to catchup soon🙂
    Wish you a very Happy New Year!

  • Lily Boot says:

    gorgeous! and the ruler looks fascinating – I might have to check this out!

  • Ann Champion says:

    I need to catch up! I’ve been using the easy angle ruler quite a bit lately too, and it’s amazing how much fabric we can save by using that handy little tool. Your quilt is looking fantastic..don’t stop!

  • movinghands says:

    I am working along on my flying geese blocks right now. I have used the Companion Angle and Easy angle for all geese blocks, too. LOVE those rulers.

    I will also persevere (although I have decided not to do the prairie points, but instead to a final triangle-like border at the end).

  • Tami says:

    Anita,
    The quilt is looking great. Truth be told, I threw mine away. It’s the anal perfectionist in me. The quilt was coming together the way I wanted so….I made that scrap quilt I had posted on my blog.

  • Ann Champion says:

    I just LOVE the zig zag borders! They’re absolutely my favorite.😉
    That companion ruler teamed with the Easy angle sure works great on those flying geese!

  • Jennifer Were says:

    I have been trying to figure out the method for doing the zig zag border and am delighted to have found your website.I’m working on a medallion at present having unpicked a lot of it because it started off to be a rectangle back in the 80’s.Now I am back to a square again and taking it from there, one row at a time.many thanks, Jennifer in Christchurch, New Zealand

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 8a – Zig Zag Flying Geese at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

