10

December 15, 2008 § 7 Comments

Kneading

Kneading

Fresh out of the oven

Packaged

Packaged

The baking has begun!  These are Hefenkranz from the King Arthur Flour web site, shaped into two loaves instead of a wreath.  There are some pretty awesome recipes on that web site!

Providentially, King Arthur Flour had free shipping on their products yesterday.  A new scale is finding it’s way to our house as we speak.  Our old one wasn’t doing too well during the baking process.  If you’ve never weighed out ingredients, you should give it a try some time.  Brown sugar, dried fruit, and any other ingredient where it says packed or something along those lines make me crazy. Sticky fingers and never getting the same amount twice send me over the edge.  This scale even has pre-programmed ingredients if you don’t know the average weight of a cup of unbleached flour. (it’s about 5 ounces, unsifted)  Cool, huh?

What are you baking?  Emily of Yarn Miracle is hosting a Virtual Cookie Swap.  Go visit and swap your heart out.  I love seeing what everyone is baking.

§ 7 Responses to 10

  • pratima says:

    mmm… soo yummy!!
    Thank you for the link🙂 The recipes look so delicious!!!

  • janet clare says:

    that looks like a lovely loaf of bread.
    Here in England we weigh all our ingredients, for every recipe. When I try to cook an American recipe I get in a muddle with the different cup measures and have absolutely no idea what a stick of butter is!

  • Lily Boot says:

    I’m so with Janet – a stick of butter?! We weigh our ingredients here in Australia too – especially dry because it can depend how firmly packed your sugar and flour is to how much fits in the cup. I became especially viligant when I started baking bread and was told there was a fabulous shop in a very funky part of town that sold the best scales – great variety, great quality – I checked it out – it was a store that sold “indoor gardening supplies”! I guess accuracy is everything😉

  • Looks beautiful & I’m sure it is delish! I love the recipes over there🙂

  • Candace says:

    Beautiful, Anita! Magazine quality!
    Cheers!

  • Julia says:

    Hi Anita,
    oh, those pictures remind me of my grandma making Hefezopf (= same as Hefekranz, but just braided loaf, no wreath) – thanks for sharing the pictures ;o), they look yummy.
    Cheers, Julia

  • amy says:

    How beautiful! I wish I could have smelled it baking! And, well, you know me, I can only figure out baking if it’s in a cup, a spoon or a stick…🙂

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading 10 at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

