Medallion Quilt Along – Border 6 – Diamonds

November 4, 2008 § 7 Comments

I apologize for the delay.  You see, there was a minor error in the measurements when I hurriedly drew this up in Electric Quilt way back in the beginning.  So, when I sat down to sew last week, it was, of course, a wee bit off.  One inch off, exactly.  The weekend schedule was maxed out and I couldn’t get back to this until today.

First off, after considering a variety of options, I’ve decided that we just need to fudge this border.  I could have made the border smaller. But I like this width in comparison to the surrounding borders.  And I didn’t want to shrink the overall size of the quilt any more. Those are my reasons and I’m sticking to it.

I’m also considering this a life lesson.  Things don’t always fall into place nicely.  Then we have to choose to scrap it (ha! scrap it?) OR to just make some adjustments and work it out. I decided that we need to adjust and work it out.  So… I apologize for that too, the fudging of this border.  I recommend that you work slowly and carefully, pressing and pinning along the way.  And don’t be too anxious. I’m sure this is what quilters did before we had those handy rotary cutters and acrylic rulers. They fudged and made do. Something like the old adage “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade”… when you have uneven quilt borders, make fudge… I mean fudge and have some chocolate.  (I know, I have a weird sense of humor)

Okay… Let’s get going…  The style of this border is the same as Border 1b. But I wanted to use a different method to construct it. As it turns out, it’s a good thing, because it is quite a bit easier to fudge on this method than the Border 1b method.

Border Stats:

  • Finished width of the border – approximately 3 inches wide.
  • Yardage requirements – minimum 3/8 yard for the light squares, and 3/8 yard minimum of the dark fabric but 1/2 yard might be safer,  2 scraps at least 4 1/4″ square of a light fabric and a dark fabric for the corner blocks.
  • Approximate width of quilt after this border – 44 1/2″ x 44 1/2″

border7-2

1.  Cut 52 – 2 5/8″ x 2 5/8″ squares from a light fabric.  Cut 44 – 3″ x 3″ squares from a dark fabric and cut in half diagonally to make 88 half square triangles.  Also cut 4 – 3 3/8″ x 3 3/8″ squares from a dark fabric and cut in half diagonally twice to make 16 quarter square triangles.

border7-3

2.  For the corner blocks, cut 2 – 4 1/4″ x 4 1/4″ squares each from a light fabric and a dark fabric.  Cut the squares in half diagonally twice to make 8 quarter square triangles each from the light and dark fabrics.

border7-4

3.  To create each side of the border, lay out 13 squares on point, placing a half square triangle between each square.  The right angle of the triangle should match up to the right angle of the square as shown above.  Sew a half square triangle to each end of the light square.  For the beginning and ending squares, sew 1 half square triangle to the appropriate side and 2 quarter square triangles to the adjoining sides to create the end of the border.

border7-5

This… I’m afraid… is where we need to begin our fudging.  You see, the last border is 38″ and it cannot be divided evenly into 13 nice and square 3-inch blocks.  The measurement comes out to be something like 2.923″.  Not quite 3 inches.

So… in order to make this border fit onto the previous 38 1/2″ border, I’ve opted to sew a little bit more generous 1/4-inch seam to make up the difference.  I think it is easier than trying to cut the fabric a tiny smidge smaller.

As you can see in the picture above, I am sewing the seam allowance about 1 millimeter or somewhere between 1/32 and 1/16-inch wider than a 1/4″.  It takes some concentration to do this on every seam because I found myself reverting back to a 1/4″ seam.  But it works well enough in the end, what with all the bias edges going on.  I hope I haven’t discouraged and lost anyone at this point!

border7-6

4.  For the corner blocks, sew the lower two light and a dark quarter square triangles to each other to create a half square triangle. Do the same to the upper two quarter square triangles.  Sew the two half square triangles together to create a complete corner square block.  You will want to sew these together with a generous 1/4″ seam as well.

I’m afraid this step is sounding like “sew this thingy to that thingy to get another thingy”.  Maybe I should draw a clearer picture?  I think I’m getting tired of fudge.

border7-8

5. Using your ruler, check your seam allowances of each border and trim to 1/4″ if necessary.  The previous border of the quilt has a 1/4″ seam allowance.  So, to easily sew the two borders together, each need to have the same sized seam allowance.

border7-7

6.  Press and generously pin the left and right side borders into place, working in any ease that may be needed.  Sew the borders to the quilt.  Press the seams towards the outside of the quilt.

Sew the corner blocks to the remaining top and bottom border pieces.  Press and generously pin these borders into place and sew to quilt.  Press the seams towards the outside of the quilt.

border7-1

Huzzah! You have now completed the Fudgy Number 6 border. Pour yourself a glass of wine and relax.  The December border will be much less painful. I promise.

§ 7 Responses to Medallion Quilt Along – Border 6 – Diamonds

  • Melody says:

    It’s beautiful! If you didn’t tell that you fudged, no one would ever know!

    Congrats on a great quilt.🙂

  • janet clare says:

    another great border. It’ll be a long while before I get to it and going by my accuracy to date, there’ll be a LOT of fudging here!

  • pratima says:

    It looks wonderful🙂
    Thank you so much!

  • Abigail says:

    Now you know why I don’t sew. All that fudging would make me twitch.

    Your quilt is beautiful.

  • hedwig bonnez says:

    Dear Anita,
    what is ‘to fudge’ ? I can’t find it in the dictionary except for some kind of bakery and I don’t think you mean that….
    I am following your quilt along quilt project very interested but haven’t started yet.

  • Funny, I didn’t have to fudge at all. Maybe because I cut my dark triangles from 2″ strip using a Companion Angle ruler, so their long sides were on the straight of grain. So I didn’t have to deal with stretching. Anyway, it turned out great and I’m off to post a pic on Flickr.

  • Ann Champion says:

    I switched the foot on my sewing machine and had no problem getting this round together in the right size. This round sure was easy!
    I just got the book that this quilt is taken from. IMO you chose the absolute BEST quilt in that book to replicate! Thank you for sharing this wonderful project. I’m having so much fun with it!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Medallion Quilt Along – Border 6 – Diamonds at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

