Slumped

October 7, 2008 § 5 Comments

Knit, knit, knit

Knit, knit, knit

There is a funky slump going on right now. It’s not like I’m not doing anything. The mini knitting retreat weekend was fun. But I have nothing to show for it. I knit Calorimetry – twice. And ripped it out both times. The first time it was too large. The second time it fit, but it just looked plain ridiculous on me.

I also splurged on a couple of Touch Me skeins and started knitting a ruffled scarf from a free pattern given out at the yarn shop. It’s so soft!  Every time I’m in the yarn shop, I have to pet it.  But alas, also ripped out. Not enough yarn. I’m trying to figure out if there’s something missing from the pattern… or if the said knitter is missing some small but vital bit of information.

Gary

Gary documented the wrestling of yarn

I did finish my Trick or Treat Feet socks for my swap pal.  But it’s been raining for days and there hasn’t been an opportunity to get a good photo. The first windy rainy storm of the season came on Saturday and we lost our power for 4 hours which called for dinner out and a little bit of shopping.

My book wish list is growing ever longer!  At the quilt shop last week we got a look at Kaffe Fassett’s new book, Country Garden Quilts… which prompted the ordering of some more Kaffe fabrics and the beginnings of another quilt.  What a beautiful book!  Maybe I’ll have some progress photos of the Leafy Rosy quilt later this week.  It’s the perfect antidote to this rainy fall weather.

Touch Me "worms" badly and needed constant untangling

Touch Me "worms" badly and needs constant untangling

And… I loved Moonstitches recent ponderings on traveling to various parts of the world and swapping lives or homes for a moment with all her blog readers. What a wonderful idea that sent me off on a lovely daydream. I’m dreaming about what it would be like to slip in for a short visit with all of you. Maybe my funky slump would go away.

§ 5 Responses to Slumped

  • Lily Boot says:

    oh dear! I’m sorry but the action photos of wrestling with that wool are a bit of a giggle!🙂 Can’t wait to see your kaffe fabrics … and some whole knitting.

  • TLC says:

    It’s always disappointing when you knit and knit and have nothing to show for it because you frogged and frogged. Glad you had a nice time with your SIL.

  • amy says:

    Not you too–a slump, I mean. To me, it’s much more frustrating to rip a knitting project than to un-sew some sewing. I wonder why that is. Gosh, and I was thinking just this morning that I should knit a Calorimetry to warm my gosh darn ears on the way to gosh darn bus stop. Stop the swearing. And I fear I want to sew every quilt in the Country Garden book. I flipped through it this weekend and hope that my personal copy arrives tomorrow. Which one are you starting with, if I might ask. Come visit sometime!

  • Karen says:

    The good thing about slumps is that they go away eventually.🙂

  • polly says:

    I have faith in you!!! The slump will go away and you will have completed all those projects: I also love the pictures of the house. It looks great:) I am glad you had a week-end with you sis

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Slumped at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

