Medallion Quilt Along – Border 5 – Alternating Squares & Half-Square Triangles

September 30, 2008 § 10 Comments

Another month has zoomed by and here we are again meeting up for the next border of the medallion quilt. This border is identical to Border 2.  If you wish, you may cut and sew the blocks together as described in the Border 2 post. Or… If you would like… try out the Thangles as I’ve shown below. Either way, you will want 36 squares and 36 half-square triangles for this border. Now that some of the borders are starting to repeat themselves, I thought it would be nice to explore different ways to make the same block.

If you chose to make Border 2 with the angled bricks, then you can repeat those again here in Border 5.  Please refer to Jennifer’s directions on how to draft the angled bricks border.

I love using Thangles when there are a lot of half-square triangles to make. You don’t have to do that funny math to figure out how much bigger the square needs to be made to be able to cut it in half.  And, Thangles seem to make the most of the fabric and waste very little. So… here we go.

Border Stats:

  • Finished block size – 2″ x 2″
  • Finished width of border – 2″
  • Yardage requirement – less than 1/4 yard of 3 different fabrics – light, medium, and dark
  • Width of quilt after this border – 38 1/2″ x 38 1/2″

1. Cut 36 – 2 1/2″ x  2 1/2″ squares from a darker fabric. Cut 2 – 2 1/2″ strips from the width of a medium value fabric. Cut 2 – 2 1/2″ strips from the width of a lighter value fabric.  (I’m using scraps so it looks like 3 strips – but they aren’t full widths of fabric) And… if you want to try using the Thangles, have on hand enough to make 36 – 2″ finished size half-square triangles. (6 sheets, one sheet will make 6 half-square triangles)

2. Place a medium 2 1/2″ strip and a light 2 1/2″ strip together with right sides facing each other. Pin 3 Thangles sheets on top of the strips in preparation to sew.

3. Reduce your stitch length a little bit. This will help the paper tear away more easily later. Sew on all the dotted lines.

4. Cut the Thangles apart on all the solid lines. Tear away the paper from each half-square triangle block and press the seams.  I pressed them open, but looking back at border 2, I pressed the seams all going in one direction.  To me, it felt better and less bulky to press the seams open in this round. Do which ever feels better to you for your quilt.

5.  Arrange the blocks, alternating a square and then a half-square triangle for each side of the quilt.  For the sides, start with a half-square triangle until there are 17 blocks stitched together end-to-end.  For the top and bottom, start with a square until there are 19 blocks stitched together end-to end.  I arranged the blocks in the same direction as I did in Border 2.

6. Sew the two side borders to the quilt first, pressing the seams towards the outside of the quilt. Then sew the top and bottom borders to the quilt. Even though there are an increasing number of blocks in each border, this one felt like it went together pretty fast. I hope you find the same is true for you.

§ 10 Responses to Medallion Quilt Along – Border 5 – Alternating Squares & Half-Square Triangles

  • iknitipurl says:

    I’ve never heard of Thangles but it looks pretty neat. Does the paper tear away easily after sewing? (I’ve never seen this before, so excuse my ignorance!)

  • janet clare says:

    4 borders behind now… will you be giving me a detention for not handing in my homework?

    (just had a thought- do you even have detentions in school in the US?)

  • Tami says:

    gulp…I’m 3 behind. Good thing Jeff will be gone lots the rest of the month! Time to get to work

  • pratima says:

    I just love the way your quilt is shaping up with different colors for each row. Very pretty🙂

  • Lily Boot says:

    okay – your medallion is looking so beautiful and I have been so slack, tomorrow is medallion day – I want beautiful half square triangles just like yours🙂

  • isabel says:

    It becames more envolvent day by day.

  • Michelle (ravelry:michelleinseattle) says:

    thanks, thanks, thanks

    I love thangles – tempting to revert to machine piecing but I am going to be strong!!!

  • Finally, a day to sew. I hope to catch up with Border 5 and Border 6.

  • Janette says:

    I have never heard of Thangles and I don’t think I can get them in the UK. If I am using the old fashioned method what size squares should I cut?

  • Mary Blackledge Corroo says:

    I just finished border 4. Tonight I will start cutting this border. I originally wanted to hand piece this. I changed my mind and am I ever glad I did. There is no way I could have hand pieced this quilt. I am having a lot of fun making this quilt!!! Thanks so much Anita for creating this pattern and sharing it.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Medallion Quilt Along – Border 5 – Alternating Squares & Half-Square Triangles at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

