Calming Knits

September 22, 2008 § 4 Comments

Hand Maiden Casbah sock yarn

Hand Maiden Casbah sock yarn

When the rest of life is moving at a frantic, break-neck speed….  yarn seems to calm and slow everything down.  Also, feeling a wee bit under the weather slows things down too.  Airborne is my new best friend.

My non-blogging friend, Linda, brought back this beautiful skein of sock yarn from Canada for me.  Wool sock weather has been creeping in again.  My feet are typically cold the whole winter. So much so that my husband has taken to calling me Mrs. Winterfeet.

Evening Stockings for a Young Lady

Evening Stockings for a Young Lady

Because we must have more than one sock project in progress at a time (so that there are knitting options), the Evening Stockings for a Young Lady from Knitting Vintage Socks were started. This Pagewood Farm Merino/Bamboo sock yarn is a delight to knit. It’s so soft and squishy…

River Forest Gansey

River Forest Gansey

The beauty of having multiple projects going on is that I can choose the project to fit the mood/time available/concentration level of the moment.  Gary’s River Forest Gansey from Handknit Holidays was perfect lazy knitting interspersed with napping yesterday.  Maybe we both need River Forest Gansey sweaters? Then again, there are a dozen other things I’m itching to knit as well.

But the best time to slow down and relax is during our annual weekend at the beach in the fall. I’ve decided to work on my lonely, neglected Babette Blanket and to frog the Olympic Sweater and overdye the yarn in a darker color.  I am so looking forward to getting away for a couple of days this year.  The reservations have been made. Now it’s just a matter of waiting… and trying to reduce my to-do list.

§ 4 Responses to Calming Knits

  • Lily Boot says:

    the textures and colours are so beautiful – and knitting that you can drift off to sleep and then wake up and keep knitting couldn’t be more perfect!

  • polly says:

    love seeing all the projects in the works…I love your babette blanket. I so want to try socks and am so scared…I keep watching yours and maybe I will get the courage to try sooner than later…Hope you start feeling better it isn’t fun being sick:(
    Polly

  • amy says:

    Such pretty yarns! I’ve been enjoying an Airborne-Zicam (A to Z?) approach to fighting off a cold. I WILL NOT be sick. Happy knitting! I’m off to see what’s new on Ravelry…for no good reason.

  • Karen says:

    You have lots of great projects in the works to pick from. The socks are an awesome colorway.

    Hope you are able to fight off whatever is threatening to make you sick!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Calming Knits at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

