The Steve Miller Band Kept Me Company

September 16, 2008 § 9 Comments

Charm Squares

Charm Squares

… while trying to get caught up on stuff around the house.  If that doesn’t show my age, I don’t know what does! I grew up on Classic Rock.  Gary and I even went to a Steve Miller Band concert at the fair last year.  It was really good.

After painting on our house all weekend (actually, we’re still painting trim) I’m just trying to clean up and restock the freezer with muffins, cookies and bread.  And I have some sewing to do for a friend. The new house colors are Retro Olive with Cream Pie trim and Evening Empress accents. Don’t you just love those color names?  Gary kept calling the house Martini Olive Green.  The trim is white and the accents are a black that is not quite black but more of a charcoal gray. I’ll show you better pictures when we’re finished.

Its Pumpkin Season!

It's Pumpkin Season!

What I’ve really been itching to do, though, is dig into my scraps. I took a class at nearby quilt shop on how to use their HQ 16 mid-arm quilting machine.  I’m impatiently wanting to make a few charity quilts with my scraps to practice machine quilting.

Tablecloth or quilt?

Tablecloth or quilt?

And with that thought… please wander over to Collecting Scraps.  It’ll be where all things scrappy will be discussed.  Once the dust settles around here, literally and figuratively, we’ll organize some themed scrap challenges. Maybe have a give-away.  And dig into that ever-growing pile of scraps that we just can’t bear to throw away.

Soaking up the last of the sun

Soaking up the last of the sun

These were mostly charms acquired from a couple of swaps plus some of my own.  And now I feel like a nap even though I am not nearly to the bottom of my to-do list.

§ 9 Responses to The Steve Miller Band Kept Me Company

  • Lily Boot says:

    so pretty Anita! I just love taking photos of quilts with the sun coming through – makes them look like stained glass – and scrap quilts look especially good like this. Gorgeous! I’m so excited about the Collecting Scraps – and it’s a great name. I shall head over now.🙂

  • polly says:

    The house is looking great. You have been a busy little beaver…baking, painting, wowaz that is a lot:) You deserve a nap…
    Polly

  • pratima says:

    Those names of the colors sound so delicious! Can’t wait to see the pretty pictures🙂
    Your quilt is gorgeous! I love scrappy quilts, there is always so much to look at. Looking forward to the adventures @ Collecting Scraps. Thank you!

  • Tami says:

    Oh I like! I now have some inspiration for Christmas. I don’t know that I’ll finish the other 2 quilts that I had hoped to. Thanks a lot😉

  • iknitipurl says:

    Very pretty quilt.

    Love the names of the paint.

  • Lynne says:

    The paint colors are perfect! We keep trying to decide colors for our house…I change my mind about every other week!

  • amanda says:

    Which quilt shop has a mid-arm quilter? I would LOVE to try using something like that. I just feel like there has to be a better way than jamming quilts through my Bernina🙂

  • Fran says:

    I love the way you combined the colors in the patches.

  • Karen says:

    Very pretty quilt!

    Sounds like you had a pretty busy weekend. The green house paint looks great! Can’t wait to see it with the trim and accent colors.

    I love the Steve Miller band too!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Steve Miller Band Kept Me Company at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

