Vintage Finds

September 11, 2008 § 3 Comments

Vintage Finds

Vintage Finds

Wow! What a week!  Two weeks ago the siding was being replaced on our house. This week, it’s painting. Painting like a sweaty-toothed madman because the warm sunny weather might not be around next week.

These are my treasures from the Vintage Barn antique show that my sister-in-law and I went to last weekend.  A drapery panel, a milk-glass vase, a school slate and a pair of pre-printed pillowcases to embroider.

Vintage Drapery

Vintage Drapery

Can’t you just see pillows out of this?  We are going to split it in half and make as many pillows as possible for each of us.  But first, I need to remove the old drapery hooks and lining and give it a good soak.

One day = Pillows

Future Pillows

I love the texture. It’s not barkcloth, but some sort of heavy twill.  Did you know that original barkcloth (not the vintage floral kind) was really made from the fibers of tree bark?  Me neither.

I wonder… is our 70’s house vintage yet? Probably not.  But our neighbor, Cliff, turns 104 today.  He lives with this 70+ daughter.  I hope I’m doing that well when I become vintage!

§ 3 Responses to Vintage Finds

  • Lynne says:

    Anita, the fabric panel is just beautiful. I found an incredible duvet cover several years ago that had been made of some 40’s pink floral. I love it so, that I hate to cut it up!

  • iknitipurl says:

    Very pretty panel indeed, I think it will make some gorgeous pillows.

  • I saw this on flickr and loved it…..it’s so vivid. Good luck with the painting work on your house.

    We had a quilt on our group today for a lady who is 100…said the quilt is for her next 100 years! You might like it ..its a memory quilt.
    The Reason . . .

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vintage Finds at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

