Ravelry’s Not Just For Knitters

August 18, 2008 § 9 Comments

Reds & Whites

Reds & Whites

Well, Ravelry was originally created and intended for knitters. But there is a small group of quilter’s who are gathering there as well. Swaps are going on, information is traded, and general cheering on of things well done can be found. We really need a Ravelry equivalent for quilters so that projects can be tracked and patterns shared, too.

Today, I started making red & white blocks for the Ravelry block swap. This is a block from the book Civil War Love Letters Quilt. I blew it up to make an 8″ block and then scrounged through my reds and whites. These blocks are good for working on value, especially when the goal is to stay within one color family.

Provisions from The Civil War Love Letter Quilt

"Provisions" from The Civil War Love Letter Quilt

Scraps have been in the back of my mind a lot lately. I have an ever-growing pile of scraps that I can’t quite make myself throw away or give away. Well, I could more easily give them away. But throwing them away seems impossible. I’m pondering some sort of Scrappy Group or a Scrappy Day where all things are about using up scraps. One goal is to really use up those petulant scraps. But another goal is to challenge the use of color and design.

My original thought was to sell the results on Etsy.com and as a by-product, much of the proceeds would be donated to charity. But I’m having a hard time getting myself together in that area right now. I really should be banned from Etsy because I just haven’t been good about posting anything. I don’t know how all those wonderful people do it. Still, one day I would like to.

§ 9 Responses to Ravelry’s Not Just For Knitters

  • iknitipurl says:

    Beautiful block.

  • isabel says:

    That’s a great idea! I’m in!

  • rebecca says:

    oh, i think that red is possibly my favorite color; i’ve amasses quite a collection of red fabrics of late. and this quilt? it’s just bright and cheery and marvelous. didn’t know the bit about quilters on ravelry. will have to check it out. thanks for the tip.

  • polly says:

    love your block. I guess I need to check out ravelry. How fun:)
    Polly in Long Beach

  • Myrna says:

    Nice block, Anita. I am a knitter as well, have been knitting for years and years. And it is sometimes a struggle between quilting and knitting. Of course, cross stitch gets thrown into the mix sometimes too. I guess I should check out Ravelry too.

  • TLC says:

    I love the block you picked for the swap! Too bad I am in group A and B and you are in swap C. Darn!

  • Lily Boot says:

    Hey Anita, I think the scrappy group is a great idea and would love to take part! Your red and white is gorgeous – red is my ultimate favourite colour. I like also that you blew up the civil war block (that’s a strange pun indeed!?) – so many of those blocks are so very sweet but send one bonkers trying to piece those wee, wee bits. Have a lovely day – and never mind about etsy – I so hear you🙂

  • Kathy says:

    Hi Anita, I think your scrappy group idea is great and would love to take part also.Those slippers are fantastic.Could you possibly try felting /-shrinking them?

  • Kathy says:

    Sorry, I’ve just worked out that was the idea. Anita, you are a great story teller. It’s a shame about the work and time you’ve spent but they are intriguing!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ravelry’s Not Just For Knitters at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

