Was that a week that just flew by?

August 15, 2008 § 5 Comments

Sprouted Grain Crackers

Sprouted Grain Crackers

The idea of sprouting grains has been fascinating me lately. I finally found a good reference to sprouting grains in a jar at Handy Pantry and the lids for standard wide-mouth canning jars at my local co-op. The result are these tasty dehydrated Carrot Cake Crackers.

A couple of years ago I bought a small Excalibur dehydrator to see if we would like using it. Apples are the easiest to dehydrate. Jerky for hiking and skiing is awesome because you can adjust the seasonings to your own taste. And these crackers are hearty enough that I feel satisfied after only a few – as opposed to a half box later with store-bought crackers.

Ratatouille

Ratatouille, basil and 2 hours of baking

Our Supper Club group meets again this weekend. The theme this time is “from the garden”. So… what is usually the most prolific vegetable in the garden at this time of the year? You’re right! Zucchini! (I should add that we don’t really have a garden, though. Only a couple of puny squash plants that are just now blooming)

So… I couldn’t resist trying Ratatouille’s version of Ratatouille. Actually, Wikipedia calls it Confit Byaldi. I added basil because it just seemed to need more of that summer-time flavor. And… it definitely tastes better the second day!

Echinacea

Echinacea

Has anyone else been knitting for the Ravelympics? (Must be a member of Ravelry) I’m working on my pile of WIP’s for the event WIP’s Wrestling. I’ve also been trying to take pictures of some recently finished projects. But it’s hard to set the timer and then sprint into position. I’ll have to commission my husband to give me a hand sometime next week.

This week… I’m exhausted. I don’t know why. Maybe I’ve been taking on too much. Hope your week has been pleasant. Wishing you all a restful weekend.

§ 5 Responses to Was that a week that just flew by?

  • Tami says:

    Must.try.the.carrot.cake.crackers.
    I’m sprouting lentils right now for “bbq chicken fingers”…not really chicken though. I received my excalliber for my birthday this year. We just finished dehydrating zucchini to use later for soups.

  • Tami says:

    By the way, I think my lentils are on steriods. I just soaked them this morning and they are already sprouting. They didn’t even soak for 8 hours

  • Jessie says:

    Oh what a fun week! Mine has also been busy busy. Thus, the lack of blog posts. But seriously, this week went by so fast. I love the idea of making your own beef jerky. Yum!

  • polly says:

    The crackers look awesome. I might try them! My problem is being just me it might be to much. I spent my week-end knitting a cut little baby sweater. I would consider me just a beginner. I can read the pattern, I can knit & purl and have good tension just learning the techniques is fun. This little sweater I am working is all one piece. It starts at the top and works down. I have two different way to do the sleeves so it has been fun. I messed up 3 times this week-end so where the beginner part comes in is I can’t take out. So I rip out and start all over but let me tell you it is good practice. I love knitting I want to do more but struggle between quilting and knitting wowza…Now starting school and working full time. OK i guess i needed to ramble can’t wait to see your pics of your knitting.
    Polly in Long Beach:)

  • Myrna says:

    I started dehydrating foods many years ago. Another thing that is easy and good is bananas. You can do them until they are chewy or a little longer. They then last forever if no one in your household knows where they are. Otherwise, they disappear in a day.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Was that a week that just flew by? at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

