We’ll Always Have Paris

August 4, 2008 § 6 Comments

Last fall Genevieve sent me this amazing quilt block in conjunction with my local quilt shop’s block exchange with the shop Best of Quilting just outside of Paris. Well, I’m happy to say that I finally finished the quilt. It only took me nine months. The gestational period for a quilt wall hanging… 9 months!

I was working on this quilt when the idea for the Medallion Quilt-Along abducted me. And I learned a few things during the process. Well… some of them I sort of “knew” but I hadn’t really put into practice.

As you can see in the photo above, there are some stars quilted into the background of the Eiffel Tower block. I “knew” that I should probably use the same color of thread in the bobbin as I was using on the front of the quilt. But I didn’t listen to that inner voice. The result was that the stars are not quite as subtle as they should be. The light colored thread from the back side is slightly poking through to the front.

Sometimes I need to slow down, look and listen, stop being so lazy and just do the right thing. I get so carried away with finishing a project that I don’t always take the time to do the little steps that make a big difference.

Along with the quilt block, Genevieve sent the grey fabric that I used in the square blocks border. It was a challenge to use this fabric and yet bring in some color to brighten up the whole quilt.

The fence in the background of this picture was the inspiration for the swirly filigree appliqué next to the center block. Carolyn at my local quilt shop teaches this amazing method for machine appliqué. While I haven’t ever officially taken her class, I usually work on the days when she is teaching and I have tried to listen in when I can. Here again was a lesson for me.

Her method of machine appliqué uses YLI Invisible Thread and she has always said, use the clear for light fabrics and the smoke for dark fabrics. Did I listen to her advice on the first corner block? No. Silly me. But I quickly changed thread and the other three corners do use the smoke color and it made a big difference. It blends in much more nicely and isn’t as noticeable. Carolyn is so good at this method of machine appliqué that you can’t hardly tell that it isn’t done by hand. I still need some more practice!

The quilt’s final resting place – our bedroom – piles of books and all. We’ll always have Paris.

§ 6 Responses to We’ll Always Have Paris

  • TLC says:

    What a great idea to have a block exchange with a quilt shop across the ocean. The block is wonderful and the quilt you made using it is fantastic. I love the swirlies.

  • Emily says:

    What a wonderful idea for an exchange! The quilt turned out so well!

  • susan says:

    oh it turned out wonderful!! such a pretty block.
    i am liking embroidery with my quilting more and more. what is that you are eating there??? it looks nummy. i too have learned i need to take a breath and do what the little voice is telling me. it always turns out better when i do. i just have to remember, its not a race!!

  • susan says:

    forgot to say i noticed the book in your blog header….apples for jam. dont you just love that book?? i love the title, the cover art and the whole darn thing!

  • pratima says:

    Very pretty! The swirls are so neat. I never could imagine that they are machine appliqued.

  • Myrna says:

    Lovely quilt and a very neat exchange. I, too, need to listen to that inner voice. But I always seem to be in a hurry at one point or another when making a quilt; I need to slow down.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading We’ll Always Have Paris at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

