Try Something New

July 25, 2008 § 5 Comments

A sneak peek at things to come. I can’t stop making those flying geese blocks.

Awhile ago I ran across this interview of Brandon Mably.  I love what he has to say about being an encourager in the classes he and Kaffe Fassett conduct.

You know, there is nothing more rewarding than giving someone a bit of encouragement. I learn so much from the workshops I give. One thing I like folks to know right off the bat is that I’m not a teacher — but an encourager. I’m there to help them look, try and see. Once I can get them over the fear of trying — it’s amazing what happens.

Over the years, encouragement is a topic that I’ve thought a lot about.  We all need encouragement.  It’s what gets us through the rough spots.  And as Brandon Mably, says, encouragement gets us past our fears.  There have been some key people and circumstances in my life who have given me some life-changing encouragement.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve decided that I want to be less afraid of trying new things.  For instance, my husband and I started taking Karate classes last January.  That is certainly something I never thought I would be doing in my 40’s!  Next month we are going to be testing for our Yellow Belt.  It’s scaring the pants off of me.  We have to answer questions about the history of karate and perform basic stances, punches, and routines. I’m not sure if I’ve ever felt less confident about something.

Quite often I don’t feel very confident about my quilting either.  But I do love to encourage customers at work to have fun and try new things.  More than anything, quilting should be fun and enjoyable.  When there are fears hanging on every decision, it’s hard to have fun and enjoy the process.  Maybe not every quilt is a “design success”.  Nor are all quilts meant to be a mastery in design.  But certainly, every quilt is a success in our own personal achievements.  They are drug behind toddlers, they are snuggled under while watching a movie, they are taken to the beach, they are given to friends and loved ones.  They are witnesses to the things in life that mean the most.

Maybe this is too much rambling for a blog.  It certainly wasn’t what I was intending to say when I took a photo of those flying geese blocks. But, I hope that I can encourage everyone who reads these words to try something new and let go of the fear of making mistakes.  Myself included.  I have a Yellow Belt to test for next month.

§ 5 Responses to Try Something New

  • pratima says:

    Yes, that is something which I’ve experienced many times.
    For instance, if it isn’t for your kind and encouraging words, I wouldn’t have attempted to try the medallion quilt and I’m learning so many wonderful things from it. Thanks so much.

    Good luck with the Karate test :o)

  • amy says:

    Three cheers for trying something new and having some fun while doing it! Good luck on the yellow belt test and I can’t wait to see more of your geese!

  • Monica says:

    Karate, ….best of luck I am sure you will do fine.

    I love the colors you are using they are gorgeous together and I can’t wait to see it in completion.

  • Amy says:

    I love all the colors in your quilt – beautiful! Thanks for the encouragement – your right we do all need it🙂 Have a great weekend.

  • Myrna says:

    Good luck on the yellow belt test; if you handle karate like you quilt, you will do wonderfully.
    ~ Myrna

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Try Something New at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

