Medallion Quilt Along – Border 3a – Stacked Logs

July 15, 2008 § 8 Comments

It’s growing! Another border has been added. Woo hoo.

This is a great border for those of you who have a hard time making things random and scrappy. Force yourself to go beyond what you usually do. Listen to what your quilt and your gut feeling is telling you. Take a risk. Play. I felt like I needed a little burst of red or pink before I got too far away from the screaming pink circle in the very middle. What is your quilt telling you?

This border was super easy. Let me give you all the stats before we get started.

~ Border width, finished (without seams) – 2″

~ Quilt size so far – 24 1/2″ x 24 1/2″

1. Cut 26 – 1 1/2″ x 4″ rectangles from lighter fabric and 26 – 1 1/2″ x 4″ rectangles from darker fabric.

Now that I see mine all together, I might have considered making the lighter ones not so light. Spend a little time thinking about what kind of effect you might want with this border… a distinct edge? lights & darks? blending of colors? It’s all up to you.

2. Alternating lights and darks, sew 6 rectangles together, end to end, for the inside row and 7 rectangles together for the outside row. Sew the two rows together as shown above to make one border side. Make 4 of these and trim each of them to 20 1/2″ in length. The width should measure 2 1/2″.

Scroll up to the photo of my finished border and notice how I tried to continue the alternating light/dark fabrics around the block. You may choose to do this… or you may not. Make a decision based on how your quilt looks and what effect you want.

3. For the “Square in a Square” corner blocks, cut 4 – 2 1/2″ squares for the center and 16 – 1 1/2″ squares for the corners. Make four “Square in a Square” blocks.

Does this block look familiar to you? We made a bunch of these in the first border. You may want to refer to the Border 1 Instructions again to familiarize yourself with this construction method.

4. Sew a border strip to each side of the quilt, pressing the seams towards the outside.

5. Sew a corner block to each end of the remaining border strips. Sew these strips to the top and bottom of the quilt.

Yay! Border number three is finished and should measure 24 1/2″ x 24 1/2″

If your quilt is not coming out to be this size, this is a great time to fudge. You could change the corner blocks to solid fabric and then trim the quilt to the above size if it is too big… or make the logs a little bit wider if your quilt is too small. It’s a great opportunity to square things up and get ready for the next four borders. Then we will make this type of border again, giving another opportunity to square things up.

Let’s take a survey. Of those who are using this quilt as a stash busting project…

1. Have you used any unusual or interesting fabrics that have turned out to be a pleasant surprise? I added a Christmas fabric in the corner block. (See above)

2. How many different fabrics have you used so far? I’ve used 23.

And… the obligatory photo of the back side. I would like to see what the “quilting guts” look like of those made by famous quilt designers/artists. Wouldn’t you? And here’s proof in mine that things don’t always match up as they should. (See the red corner block) But… make the front look nice and no one will ever know. Shhhh. Don’t tell.

§ 8 Responses to Medallion Quilt Along – Border 3a – Stacked Logs

  • Lily Boot says:

    Ooooh Anita, the medallion quilt looks fabulous – and I must work on mine! – I love the logs too, but the best bit is the back – it’s so nice to hear a talented and creative quilter whisper the praises of making the front look good!😉 Hear! Hear!

  • Michelle (ravelry:michelleinseattle) says:

    Love it – pressure is on for August now – you are fantastically organized!!! Thanks!!!

  • janet clare says:

    another great tutorial, thanks! I’m ashamed to say that I now seem to be 3 borders behind- I’ve got some serious catching up to do!

  • pratima says:

    It is looking beautiful and vibrant with the red and all the bright bits in there. Thanks a bunch for the instructions.

  • Jeannie says:

    It is really turning out beautiful! Way to go! Have fun with your Mom. Cheers

  • Debbie says:

    I love this quilt. I have just started and got caught up with this great border. I love seeing it grow.

  • Tami says:

    Whew! I have been a sewing phene as of late. I just need to do my square in sqare for this last border and then I’m ready for #3b! Hot dog. I feel so on top of things. This quilt really has inspired a thorough cleaning and organizing of all my crafts which brought forth 2 unfinished quilts. I now have the drive to finish the tops by the end of the year.
    As for surprise fabrics? I haven’t used anything that has surprised me in a positive way. The only one that I didn’t care for was a white that I liked until yesterday. It just doesn’t go but I’m not going back in to take them out.

    As soon as I do my square in square tomorrow I will have used 27 different fabrics to date. Yowzer!

    As for the back, I don’t know that I’ll post a pic on flickr but thus far it’s come out the nicest. I’ve been playing around with pressing the seams and so far so good although I’m sure someone could tell me where I’ve gone wrong and why. Oh well. Once it’s completed no one will know the difference.

    Thanks again for this quilt-along. I’m having a blast just being scrappy. Your tutorials have been great.

  • Tami says:

    When I said my back has come out the nicest I mean the nicest of any of the quilts I have done. Sorry. Didn’t mean to sound prudish.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Medallion Quilt Along – Border 3a – Stacked Logs at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

