Sisters, OR Quilt Show

July 14, 2008 § 4 Comments

We are back, tired, and recovering from a whirlwind weekend trip to the Sisters Outdoor Quilt Show. All I can say is… WOW. I heard that there were over 1200 quilts on display, both inside participating business and outside on the streets. I’m sure I didn’t see them all. One woman on our bus said that she was counting and gave up after 800. I didn’t even have the gumption to begin counting.

I really, really, really wanted to get this rub-on tattoo. But I also really, really, really wanted a shower when we got back to the hotel. And I wanted it to last more than just one day. You see my dilemma.

What impressed me the most was the care and detail that was given to coordinate the quilts to the buildings or surroundings where they were displayed.

There were masses of people along with the masses of quilts. This woman was kind enough to act as Foot Traffic Police to stop the steady stream long enough so I could snap a photo.

There were quilts by beginners as well as famous quilt artists. Most of them were for sale. And I did see quite a few marked as sold. This one, I believe, was made by Velda Newman and carried a price tag of $30,000. I didn’t go back and check at the end of the day to see if it was sold.

In the High Desert Gallery I fell in love with the work by Kathy Deggendorfer and Tonye Belinda Phillips. They are friends. One paints and the other quilts. They have collaborated on a few limited editions and I was dying to buy this one called Coming Home in the Miss Dotty series. I stood in front of it for hours (ok, maybe not hours, but quite a long time) trying to find a way to justify starting an art collection. Sigh.

It was a great trip. I got a little bit of sunburn where I didn’t get the sun block thick enough. And, I took a lot of pictures. I’ll try to upload a few each day this week. I agree with the advice at one end of town… Come Back Soon. I’m ready. When can we go?

§ 4 Responses to Sisters, OR Quilt Show

  • samm says:

    The quilts are breathtaking!!! But the fish one is the most beautiful quilt I’ve ever seen. It’s amazing! Thank you for sharing these works of art!

  • beth says:

    very adorable quilts, the fishes looks like a paint on a canvass.

  • Hi Anita.
    Thanks for the kind words about Kathy/Tonye and the Miss Dotty Series.

    Starting is the best thing about collecting.

    We enjoyed your site. Hope you enjoyed Sisters and the Quilt Show. Please visit again.

    Todd and the crew at High Desert Gallery

  • Myrna says:

    I have wanted to attend the Sisters Quilt Show for a number of years; there are bus trips from Canada every year but I have not yet made it. Thanks for sharing about your experience and photos.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sisters, OR Quilt Show at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

