A Little Cat & Mouse

July 8, 2008 § 6 Comments

There once was a Cat.

… and a couple of sneaky Mouse Twins.

They were enjoying the morning sun, playing in the garden.

The Mouse Twins won. Huzzah!

These were so fun to make. Except for the stuffing. I dislike stuffing. I never seem to get it all just right. There are a few lumps. How does one make a smoothly stuffed stuffy? These are going to join my Doll Quilt for the DQ4 swap.

Cat pattern by Keiko Goke, a Japanese quilter, from Kaffe Fassett’s Quilt Road. It appears her web site has disappeared. Mouse pattern by Teresa Levy at Sewing Stars.

§ 6 Responses to A Little Cat & Mouse

  • Monica says:

    Those are the cutest mice I have ever seen, and the only ones I would want to see in my garden. The look great.

  • Lily Boot says:

    Oh Anita – these are gorgeous! Especially the mice! I’m so with you on the stuffing. It would seem inconceivable that anything as simplistic as shoving bits of fluffy stuff inside a rounded shape could be so provoking and challenging but it sure is – I have used a stuffing stick, used tinsy-winsy pieces, used big pieces (definitely bad news) and read tips on it, but never manage to avoid the little puckers along the seam lines and strange lumps. There’s a teddy bear shop near me that sells these truly strange tiny pellets – imagine just pouring it in and having it fill every nook and cranny effortlessly – and then being completely unsuitable for small children!šŸ™‚ Lovely work!

  • Emily says:

    Poor kitty fainted dead away. They are SO cute!

  • pratima says:

    Aww… so cute and cuddly!

  • Goosie Girl says:

    I love the mice… so cute. Their little ears, you can’t get any better than that.

  • amy says:

    Very cute indeed! I really like the little prints you used–they make sweet things even sweeter. I can only get smoothly stuffed stuffies when I’m working on heavier fabrics, so I wonder if adding a layer of interfacing might help? I’m also a chronic overstuffer from my years making teddy bears.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Little Cat & Mouse at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

