Around the Block

June 26, 2008 § 4 Comments

While there has been lots of knitting and sewing going on… I have nothing in a substantial, finished enough state to show you. Soon, my dears.

Smarty Pants Eli on a rare sunny day.

Every day I wake up, look out the window, cast a longing glance at the thermometer and wonder what the day will be like. I feel like posting a play-by-play, sun and temperature meter each day. 51F degrees this morning with just a hint of sunshine. I know we always say around here, it’s not really summer until after the 4th of July. But this year, I’m exceptionally doubtful that summer will ever arrive. This weekend is supposed to be nice. I’m hoping!

The roses blooming on a gray & dreary day. Let’s not talk about how puny the squash starts look!

Coming next week… Border #2 of the Medallion Quilt-Along. Then, for the month of August we have 2 borders planned. The first one is easy. I’m thinking that I will try to post the August 3a border around July 15th and the August 3b border around August 1st so that if you need or want to work ahead or spread out the work over the summer, you can.

For my swap partner in the Doll Quilt Swap #4 sitting in a spot of sun.

Also, the Internet has way too many temptations and inspirations. Flickr is dangerous enough in leading me down the path of time destruction! Check these links out for yourself and say it isn’t so. Now… set the timer and don’t waste the afternoon, like I so often do, bouncing around the Internet!

~ Sue Spargo has a new blog. I LOVE her applique!

~ Make a basketful of fabric yarn balls from vintage pillowcases.

~ Make your own Black Apple doll at Martha Stewart.

~ A new Quilting Bloggers database that will be sure to suck up all your time! Look up blogs by country or state.

~ The Doll Quilt Swap 4 is humming along. So many great little quilts in progress!

~ I just discovered Rosalie Quinlan’s blog. So fun!

~ I’ve really been enjoying True Up, a blog about fabric. Educational and inspirational all at the same time.

§ 4 Responses to Around the Block

  • pratima says:

    Such a cute kitty! And I love your doll quilt too.. the buttons and the quilting around it looks really yummy!
    Can’t wait to do the next border🙂
    Thank you for the lovely links. I’m tempted to try the dollies.

  • isabel says:

    I love the way you’ve quilt this one. The embroidery around the buttons is great.
    Have a nice weekend!

  • Tami says:

    Oh Anita, I have NEVER had a problem with squash…summer or winter squash. They seem to do quite well all on their own. But this year…this year it’s horrid. Mine have been in the ground since Mother’s Day and they’ve done hardly anything. I want to go back to TN!

  • Monica says:

    I would love to have some of your cooler weather it is hot, humid and sticky here.
    Your quilt is lovely!!!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Around the Block at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

