What do you call a UFO?

June 24, 2008 § 6 Comments

There has been some discussion among the folks in the Quilter’s Knitting group on Ravelry (must be a member of Ravelry to view). What do you call a UFO (Un-Finished Object)?

I’m not sure I even want to go there. And I know that I don’t want to count how many I have on my shelves! Never-the-less… I thought you might like to see one such UFO on my shelf. Back in 1999, my local Ben Franklin was selling a kit of fabrics – 2000 4″x4″ squares of fabric. You know… to celebrate the New Millenium. I split it with my mom. (I don’t think she’s finished hers either!) So, now I have 2000 2″x4″ rectangles… all nicely separated by color. As evidence… see that fabric underneath printed with “2000”?  I was planning on sewing them together by threes to make a sort of rail fence pattern.

Is it a UFO? A waste of time? Finish that baby? What do you have to say about UFO’s? And I don’t mean the kind found in Roswell, New Mexico.

§ 6 Responses to What do you call a UFO?

  • tanaya says:

    For me, I consider it a UFO if the fabric has been cut for a specific project.

    WIPs are projects that I am actively working on (or have touched in some way within the last month or 2.)

    And if the fabric has simply been purchased, (even if it is for a specific project), but nothing has been done with it…that is stash.

    :o)

  • joyce says:

    I like to work on more than one project at a time so I don’t spend all day piecing or all day quilting so I always have a UFO pile. I don’t like to see the pile get too big though and lately that has been happening. Now I am telling myself, no new projects until the pile is under control. I do have a new book with a very interesting project though….

  • Emily says:

    My policy is to spend a lot of time not thinking about mine.

  • Marianne says:

    I once hosted a UFO swap, with the idea that getting rid of your UFOs would free up your creative inspiration, and someone else would be motivated to finish your UFOs, and vice versa.

    Did I finish the other person’s UFO? NO. But I did like what I received. I will someday.
    🙂

  • Ailsa says:

    My Mum bought me a Millenium cross stitcher sampler in 1999 and it remains a UFO, I’ll finish it one day!!!

  • Nols says:

    Does anyone know where I can get a copy of the Millennium 2000 cross stitch sampler from.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading What do you call a UFO? at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

