Orange You Glad?

June 21, 2008 § 4 Comments

I frogged a shrug that was knit last year and decided to re-use the yarn for this… the Hexacomb Cardigan.  The shrug, I’m afraid, would never have been worn.  I just couldn’t get my head around the instructions and it fit poorly.  Since the Pacific Northwest region has decided to skip summer this year I’m sure I’ll get plenty of use out of this sweater. Okay… it is 70 degrees today, but gray and cloudy.  Yesterday was beautiful!  Which, coincidentally, was perfect for my husband’s niece who was married last night and now off to a luxurious honeymoon in the Caribbean.  Do you think she would mind if we smuggled ourselves into one of their suitcases?

I’m really into re-using and using up what’s on hand at the moment.  There has been much cutting and sewing going on in addition to the knitting.  Besides, what else is there to do when summer refuses to arrive?

Hope you all are enjoying your summer!

Project Details:

Pattern – Hexacomb Cardigan, Interweave Knits, Spring 2008
Yarn – Cascade Sierra
Needles – US 6

§ 4 Responses to Orange You Glad?

  • Monica says:

    It has been cooler here this past week, in the 80’s. It had been unseasonbly hot before that, and terribly humid. That is a very pretty sweater design.

  • Lily Boot says:

    That’s a beautiful cardy – just my kind! The colour is gorgeous – good thing you found something to re-use the wool for – the honeycomb pattern is lovely and the bands are so sweet! I want one!

  • Susan B says:

    Hi Anita!

    I adore the orange – and I’m right there with you on the re-using thing – – if it is going to cost me $4/gallon to drive to the yarn store (where I already know that I’m going to spend a fortune as-it-is!) then I’m staying home and keeping my $4 and turning to my stash!

    I sent an e-mail to your ‘pinsorneedles’ account asking you about re-photographing the May Day Socks on the off-chance that a new online knitting magazine wants to publish the pattern – but didn’t know if that account was one you checked regularly……..?

  • Ailsa says:

    It looks a very useful little cardi and the sort I use all the time.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Orange You Glad? at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

