New Socks, Two Socks

June 17, 2008 § 10 Comments

Here’s an easy game to play.
Here’s an easy thing to say…
New socks. Two Socks.
Whose socks? Sue’s socks.

~ Fox in Socks by Dr. Seuss

Well, not really socks for Sue, but socks for me. I love Dr. Seuss books. And… I love knitting socks. Another pair. Finished.

When I first started knitting these socks the yarn scared me a little bit. It’s quite a bit brighter than what I normally knit for socks! There were a couple of false starts and some frogging. Then I stumbled on a pattern from The New Knitting Stitch Library by Lesley Stanfield, modified it to fit a sock and it seemed to muddy the colors a little more, scaring me a little less. Plus… I read in Charlene Schurch’s book Sensational Knitted Socks that she calls the soles of socks worked in a reverse stockinette stitch “Princess Foot” because she feels it is more comfortable to walk on the knit side of the fabric rather than the purl side. I just had to try it to see if it was true.

While writing quilting patterns is something I like to do, writing knitting patterns scares me. Despite my fears, here’s the pattern for my socks, so named because the twisted stitch creates a trellis-like pattern.

§ 10 Responses to New Socks, Two Socks

  • isabel says:

    Thank you very, very much!
    I’ll certainly try it. They are beautiful!

  • knittinginpink says:

    What a wonderful pattern. Thank you very much!

  • Emily says:

    Yay! Thanks for sharing the pattern! I wonder if I’ll be able to tell a difference between knit-side purl-side inside. There’s a poem in there somewhere.

  • sheepishone says:

    i made snicket socks, which are similar to yours, and too thought that the princess foot would be better suited to the pattern. i didn’t end up doing it, though, because i was not grasping the idea of a heel turn with the purls. i’ll have to check out your pattern! thanks in advance.

  • Monica says:

    They are gorgeous!!!!!

  • ivoryspring says:

    Beautiful sock, Anita! Good job!!

  • Ravenhill says:

    Those are some gorgeous socks!!! The color is out of this world beautiful and I love the pattern.
    ~Emily

  • KT says:

    Those are fantastic socks! I want to knit these as kneesocks- they are gorgeous! Great job and the diamond pattern is a favorite of mine. I’ll try to stop by the shop the week. Again- beautiful work.

  • Nancy Rink says:

    Your socks reminded me of a great Pablo Neruda poem. Here it is:
    Ode to a pair of socks

    Maru Mori brought me
    a pair
    of socks
    that she knit with her
    shepherd’s hands.
    Two socks as soft
    as rabbit fur.
    I thrust my feet
    inside them
    as if they were
    two
    little boxes
    knit
    from threads
    of sunset
    and sheepskin.

    My feet were
    two woolen
    fish
    in those outrageous socks,
    two gangly,
    navy-blue sharks
    impaled
    on a golden thread,
    two giant blackbirds,
    two cannons:
    thus
    were my feet
    honored
    by
    those
    heavenly
    socks.
    They were
    so beautiful
    I found my feet
    unlovable
    for the very first time,
    like two crusty old
    firemen, firemen
    unworthy
    of that embroidered
    fire,
    those incandescent
    socks.

    Nevertheless
    I fought
    the sharp temptation
    to put them away
    the way schoolboys
    put
    fireflies in a bottle,
    the way scholars
    hoard
    holy writ.
    I fought
    the mad urge
    to lock them
    in a golden
    cage
    and feed them birdseed
    and morsels of pink melon
    every day.
    Like jungle
    explorers
    who deliver a young deer
    of the rarest species
    to the roasting spit
    then wolf it down
    in shame,
    I stretched
    my feet forward
    and pulled on
    those
    gorgeous
    socks,
    and over them
    my shoes.

    So this is
    the moral of my ode:
    beauty is beauty
    twice over
    and good things are doubly
    good
    when you’re talking about a pair of wool
    socks
    in the dead of winter.

    taken from Odes to Common Things

  • Cissy says:

    You did a wonderful job with these socks, and I thank you for sharing the pattern, creative person!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Socks, Two Socks at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

