Jelly Rolls in my Cupboard

June 6, 2008 § 4 Comments

Working in a quilt shop is dangerous, I tell you! It’s hard not to come home with some new book, fabric, pattern or gadget. It’s not like I need more books or patterns or such. But, I couldn’t resist this book. It’s one of the few that has really inspired me to dig in and use my Jelly Rolls. In fact, it makes me want to cut up my stash into 2 1/2-inch strips and make my own jelly rolls.

It’s written by the owners of The Quilt Room, a quilt shop in Dorking, England, who are not only using Moda’s Jelly Rolls, but making their own jelly rolls by coordinating and cutting fabrics from their shop into 2 1/2-inch strips.

The projects start out really simple – blocks like Chinese Coins and 4-Patch. As the book progresses, the projects are a little more challenging, but still very doable for beginners. And the last project… I need to make this. It’s a bag to carry your quilt. I can see it being used in sleep-overs, weekends at the beach or holidays at a ski resort.

One of my best memories is the week my best friend & her husband and my husband & I spent at Whistler, BC where I learned to ski. They had the bedroom. We slept on the pull-out sofa. There was a light snow in the mornings. I took a flannel quilt to snuggle under. It was magical.

Now, if something could be done to about this week of dreary, cold, rainy, the furnace is still running, is it really June ’cause it feels like November, wet kitty paws weather… that would be great!

§ 4 Responses to Jelly Rolls in my Cupboard

  • Marianne says:

    Amen, sister (the weather!)
    It was about 50 degrees and rainy this morning. But it has warmed up to 70something and sunny this afternoon. So, thank God for that!

  • Amy says:

    I have this book on my wishlist – I’m glad that you like it! It makes me want it even more. . .=)

  • Michelle says:

    Anita!
    Come back home to Iowa! It’s been raining, but HOT HOT HOT….in the 90’s, complete with stormy weather, blustery to high wind days, and storm and tornada warnings!

    Ok, now, cuddle up…I know you are happy with the weather you have now….right?
    Michelle

  • janet clare says:

    That is so weird! The Quilt Room is my local shop (luckily still 45 minutes drive away)! It’s in a really old, quaint wobbly building and has uneven stairs and low ceilings and a garden with a little outside toilet at the end. Wonderful place!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Jelly Rolls in my Cupboard at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

