Going, Going, Almost Gone

May 27, 2008 § 5 Comments

I’ve been itching to make some clothing. My intention was to make a quick trip to my local JoAnn Fabrics – just 3 miles away. I don’t usually shop there unless I really need something that I can’t find in a quilt shop – like zippers and buttons.

To my amazement, this particular location is closing. The only sad part about this news is that the next time I need zippers or buttons, the next nearest JoAnn’s to me is 10 miles away rather than 3. There used to be a Pacific Fabrics (much better quality) equally as close until the owner of the strip mall decided a Staples was much more useful to the community. He must not know anyone who quilts or sews!

The happy part is that I scored some great deals.

~ Some printed denim weight cotton for a jacket. I’m thinking something Anthropologie-like. Only $2.32 a yard!

~ 100% cotton shirting for the back of my Medallion Quilt. Only $3.00 a yard!

~ 2 Burda patterns for $1.99 each. Now I can do something about that itch to make clothing.

~ And 50% off The Border Workbook just in the nick of time to help me with the next border in the Medallion Quilt.

§ 5 Responses to Going, Going, Almost Gone

  • samm says:

    You really did score! Too bad the closer store is closing, though. I love the flowered fabric especially. And the shirting will make a lovely backing for your quilt. I’m just about to choose my centre block, after we get this house in shape today and I clear out my sewing room after it was flooded.đŸ™‚ Soon! I’m really looking forward to doing this Quilt-a-long!

  • isabel says:

    lucky you! The 1st fabric has a great color and the bust be magnific!

  • ivoryspring says:

    Wow Anita,

    You left with such treasures. That book looks priceless! I am anxious to hear your review on the book!

    Talk to you later!

  • Emily says:

    Oh cool! The craft stores here don’t carry Burda. What are you making? Something fancier that Pajamas if you need zippers and buttons…

  • marmieannie says:

    The quit is lovely!!! It may still be too far for you, but there is a Pacific Fabrics in Bellevue. They also have a web site and can look for things for you if you don’t see what you need. Cheaper than gas!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Going, Going, Almost Gone at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

