Postcard Greetings & More

May 23, 2008 § 6 Comments

My first attempt at making a quilted postcard.

Remember the Paris quilt block exchange at my Local Quilt Shop? We’re sending postcards to our block sisters next. I’ve never made quilted postcard before. It took me nearly all afternoon to figure this out! But… it was fun. And now I wish I had time to make a few more. Though, it’s not like I need another project to distract me!

I made a downloadable pdf file for the address side of the postcard if you want to try your hand at making one.

I can hear “tutorial?!?” echoing across the Internet.  Since I didn’t want to re-invent the wheel, I did a quick search on the web. Here are a couple of links to tutorials.  Enjoy!

How to make a Fabric Postcard at Red Shoe Ramblings

Patchwork Cards at Craft Apple

What else have you all been up to?

Here’s my center block for the Medallion Quilt-Along… not yet sewn to the background. Soon… Nothing like making it a bulls-eye, eh? I just wanted something not quite so square since nearly every border is going to be quite square in nature.

And, here’s a stack of fabrics I couldn’t resist at my local Ben Franklin once I saw that fat quarters were on sale.

Happy Weekend!

§ 6 Responses to Postcard Greetings & More

  • pratima says:

    aww, a cute postcard! got to love those circles.
    Such a fun idea of bulls eye for the center block. And the dark bground is making it standout much more. Love those beautiful fat quarters… lovely colors!

  • Katie says:

    I made some fabric postcards a few years ago, and it was a lot of fun! Your center medallion looks so pretty. And I sure wish I still lived near a Ben Franklin–we had one near where I grew up, and I always loved going in there!

  • Lily Boot says:

    Mmmm… postcards – these look like fun and yours is very whimsical. I LOVE your bullseye – great colours and your new fabric is very yummy – something special or into the stash?

  • movinghands says:

    Summer is a great season for fabric postcards. Yours is really cute! Pretty idea for the center of your quilt, too. 🙂

  • isabel says:

    Your center is lovely! I’ve just start sewing mine, after a few hours choosing colors…
    And the fabrics are really irresistible.

  • Tonni says:

    The fabrics in your center “circle” are beautimous! I can’t wait to see the finished quilt.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Postcard Greetings & More at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

