Red Grannies

April 12, 2008 § 5 Comments

My LQS is beginning to carry a wee bit of yarn. In my mind, there is nothing better than combining a quilt shop and a yarn shop. Oh yeah, there is one more thing. Add some espresso and I would pack my bags and move in. There would be no reason to ever go home!

My husband is spending the weekend with his parents.  And I am home keeping the cats company and trying to make the most of having the house to myself.

His mother moved into an assisted living home a couple of weeks ago and is having a hard time adjusting. Shortly after that his father came down with aspirated pneumonia from not being able to swallow properly and ended up in the hospital. Last weekend we spent visiting them both.

His father is recovering well from the pneumonia and was released from the hospital this week. He also has moved into an assisted living home. So my husband drove back over to spend time with them both and help run the many errands that need to be done. One of his older sisters has been taking care of them for over a year and her husband & son came down with the flu last week. When it rains, it pours!

Thank you for your well wishes. It’s hard to see your parents aging. Luckily, my husband is the youngest of a very large family and the care can be shared.

Crocheted Granny Cushion details:

Pattern – modified from the book First Crochet by Lesley Stanfield
Yarn – Lifestyle by Zitron, color 23
Crochet Hook – size US “E”
Finished size – 12″ x 12″

§ 5 Responses to Red Grannies

  • twolimeleaves says:

    Anita, I love your cushion! Red and white wins my heart every time🙂
    Hope your parents-in-law soon feel more settled in their new home. It’s a huge adjustment.

  • samm says:

    I hope your husband’s parents are feeling more comfortable soon. It sounds as if they are not together, which can make it extra hard. The red cushion is great! I’d like one in blue for my bedroom. :O)

  • vigilant20 says:

    That looks GREAT!

  • Tami says:

    It’s so difficult to watch those around us getting older.
    LOVE THE PILLOW!!
    Oh yes, I must also agree that a yarn and fabric shop is the best kind. I’ve attempted to talk Jeff into the idea of purchasing a house in a lovely downtown area somewhere. A house that can be converted to my yarn/fabric shoppe with another section being his coffee shoppe. The coffee shoppe can have it’s own entrance but must also have an entrance into the yarn/fabric shoppe. He hasn’t bitten yet.

  • I love that pillow! I remember the pattern picutre in blue, but the red is very striking. Just one more crochet book I want to add to my library.
    I hope everything goes well for your husband’s parents. It is a difficult transition to an assisted living home but there are many positives to moving into one. I hope everyone in your family gets better soon. The flu/pneumonia is no fun!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Red Grannies at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

