Dear May Day Sock Pal

April 2, 2008 § 3 Comments

You’ve left some really nice comments! I do appreciate them. But, since I don’t know who you are just yet, let me answer some of your questions. Inquiring minds may want to know.

How did you come up with the name Rhubarb Patch for labels?

I grew up on a farm and my grandmother used to have these HUGE rhubarb plants. At least they seemed huge to a small girl. I remember cutting these giant stalks and trimming the leaves. I love rhubarb, but sadly, no one else around me joins in my enthusiasm.

Photo taken just this morning.

A former co-worker gave me a rhubarb crown that has been replanted around our yard many times and in various places. It won’t die, yet it doesn’t thrive either. Last year I bought another root from a nursery and moved them again, hoping that this newcomer would encourage my old root to grow.

Will they ever grow big and tall?

This is their final resting place. The most I’ve ever been able to make out of these sad little sprouts is a tiny, lame little cobbler. But I still have hope that one day my rhubarb roots will look like my grandmother’s rhubarb patch.

Should I be hopeful that you’ll like what I’m making for you or worried that you won’t like it?

I am certain that I will like the socks that you are knitting. Someday… I want my sock drawer to look like this. And you are contributing to that dream. Besides… considering that the last 3 pairs I have knit have been for other people, I’m ready for my own pair. How could I not like a pair of socks knit especially for me???

May Day Sock Swap Socks all ready to go.

Yarn – Jitterbug, color Raspberry, by Colinette
Pattern – Basket Weave Rib from the book Sensational Knitted Socks.

Another pair of socks for Gary. He prefers them Plain Jane.

Yarn – Superwash Merino Sock Yarn, color Thoroughbred, by FearlessFibers.etsy.com.

Socks for my best friend, Diane. And she picked out the yarn herself!

Yarn – On Your Toes, color Blue Heather, by S.R. Kertzer
Pattern – Moorish Lattice from the book Sensational Knitted Socks.

§ 3 Responses to Dear May Day Sock Pal

  • Your May Day Sock Swap Pal says:

    Zowie!!! A blog post all to little ol’ me???? LOL. You’ve totally brightened my otherwise sick, hoarse, coughing, and ucky day!!!!!!!

  • Marianne says:

    Hi Anita,
    My neighbor in this area told me one time that his mother used to grow rhubarb in a barrel so that it would have to get very tall to get to the sun…thus making taller stalks. Might be worth trying!🙂

  • Tami says:

    My Grandmother also had huge rhubarb plants. I love them. I’m so glad that Jeff isn’t the only one that likes plain jane socks…except for argyle which I haven’t attempted but even then it would still be in the simple knit stitch.
    I’m knitting my personal first pair (meaning a pair I’m keeping for myself) in Fearless Fibers Earthenware. LOVE it

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dear May Day Sock Pal at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

