New Friends

March 26, 2008 § 1 Comment

My cold was almost gone and then came back twice as bad over the weekend. I’m finally feeling better, so let me finish telling you about our trip to Paris by introducing you to my new friends at Best of Quilting in Marcoussis, France.

The Best of Quilting shop

The Best of Quilting shop is located in Marcoussis, a small village just outside of Paris. It is the cutest shop with a great fabric selection – very similar to many American quilt shops.

Old castle ruins of Marcoussis

They even have their own castle ruins!

Valerie, the owner of Best of Quilting

Valerie and the block swap ladies greeted us with a warm welcome and cake & champagne. They really know how to make a gal feel special!

Inspecting Gary’s hand-knit socks

When they found out that I had knit Gary’s socks, they wanted a closer look. They love to exchange ideas on all sorts of hand-work and crafts. One woman makes Artist Trading Cards. Another makes dolls that are sold through Unicef to raise money for medical supplies for children. They all have a love for hand made items.

Genevieve and me

And this is Genevieve, my block swap partner. She is the one who made the very cool Eiffel Tower block. Genevieve and her husband welcomed us into their home with a traditional 4-course French meal. Oy, was it good! She loves to cross stitch, do ribbon embroidery and hardanger. Her hand sewing skills put me to shame! It is going to be a challenge for me to finish that block into a quilt with any amount of justice. It almost makes me afraid to start. But start I must, because my local quilt shop is having a show-n-tell in April. Eeeks!

§ One Response to New Friends

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Friends at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

