Don’t You Love NY in the Fall*, ahem, Spring?

March 11, 2008 § 9 Comments

View from the Empire State Building

It has been more than 20 years since I had last been in New York. That trip was part of my college degree program. Ahem, that makes me *cough* older than I care to admit. Gary had never been to New York before.

Grand Central Station at the beginning of the evening rush hour

Cheesy lines from many a movie set in New York are begging to be blurted out, but I shall try and refrain. Our hotel was in Midtown Manhatten just a few blocks away from Grand Central Station. For dinner one night we ate the infamous gigantic hamburgers at Juniors.

Union Square, you stay there**

We did a marathon of site seeing… a Circle Line boat tour, the Empire State Building, The Metropolitan Museum of Art***, NBC studios tour, Rockefeller Center, the Upper West Side and Zabar’s, Soho and Purl Patchwork, Ground Zero, Little Italy, Katz Deli, and more. It’s all a blur.

The May Day socks were in my purse most days. A little knitting here, a little knitting there. When the toe of the first sock was getting close, I was getting worried about having enough yarn for the second sock. There’s not a lot of yardage on those Jitterbug skeins. Luckily Zabar’s had a kitchen scale on display with a battery and a quick check of the number of grams left in the ball assured me that I would have just enough. Thank you Zabars! I wish there was a Zabar’s near me. I could live there. There are no words to describe it. It was just amazing.

* “Don’t you just love New York in the Fall” quote and Zabar’s from You’ve Got Mail.
** “You stay there!”, “Meet me at Union Square” quote from Mad About You.
*** BTW, the Haystacks painting by Van Gogh from The Thomas Crown Affair is not part of Metropolitan Museum of Art’s collection, in case you were wondering.

Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. Stay tuned for more vacation photos.

§ 9 Responses to Don’t You Love NY in the Fall*, ahem, Spring?

  • KT says:

    That looks like so much fun- I used to go to The City all the time when I was in college. Going to try to stop by the store tomorrow. Oooh and I used my Kwik Klip and I adore it. Welocme back and see you tomorrow, hopefully!

  • gina says:

    DD Gemma is going to New York for 2 days next week. It’s part of a school trip. They’ll be doing the tourist trail aswell. She is so excited about it.

    Looks like you had a great time
    love and hugs xxxx

  • Beck says:

    I love your May Day Socks in Pink! So pretty!

  • Tami says:

    I so guessed the first line! You’ve got mail is a favorite. The socks have a great weaved basket look. You amaze me with all the socks that you do. I’m sitting here getting tired of a size 1 needle and I still have to finish the toe of the first sock. It may be a little lonesome for a while waiting for it’s partner. I much prefer to knit with thicker yarn and larger needles for the rest of the family…I just don’t like too thick of socks for myself

  • Monica says:

    I love “You’ve Got Mail”, I was waiting for the line about the sharpened pencils.too.

    Your socks look wonderful.

  • Gary says:

    Ok Monica,

    Joe says (as best I can remember) to Kathleen, “Don’t you just love New York in the Fall? It makes me think of school supplies. In fact, if I had your address I’d send you a bouquet of sharpened pencils.”

  • Anita says:

    That’s my Hubby, Gary. Thanks for finishing everyone’s thoughts.

    BTW, I’d love to get a bouquet of sharpened pencils from you. 😉

  • I love the socks- is that a basket weave? Would you mind sharing the name of the pattern with me? And keep posting vacation pics- It is great to see what we are missing!!

  • […] Pal’s socks have been on a trip! Traveling socks are the […]

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Don’t You Love NY in the Fall*, ahem, Spring? at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

