Little Acorns

December 20, 2007 § 5 Comments

An LQS in the area (not where I work) has an ongoing quilt challenge every 4 months. How it works is… an unknown, secret fat quarter is wrapped in a brown paper bag with a theme title on the outside. The challenge is to use the fabric in a small quilt pertaining to the theme. Often the fabric is one that would be at the bottom of everyone’s list of favorite fabrics – or maybe not even on the list.

For some odd reason (I think a co-worker egged me on) I decided to rise to the challenge this time. It was good for me! It pushed me out into new territory.

The challenge fabric. The theme was “Fall-ing for You”.

The end result. Little Acorns.

I wanted to try out two new-to-me techniques. The outlining or line drawing in this quilt intrigued me and I wanted to play around with the idea. I really need to try this a few more times and have some ideas floating around in my head.

And, I wanted to try out this invisible binding. I don’t even know if that’s what it is called. And I can’t seem to find anything on the Internet about it. But I have been seeing an increasing number of quilts come into the shop with this type of finish. It’s a cool way to finish an art quilt.

§ 5 Responses to Little Acorns

  • janet clare says:

    Lovely quilt, but like you say the challenge fabric has nothing ‘fall-like’ about it! Looks like Spring fabric to me…
    I also am intrigued by the binding. Looks great, maybe you could conjure up a little tutorial?

  • Tami says:

    I think you pulled it off well. You never cease to amaze me!

  • Monica says:

    Very pretty . I wish I had the patience to quilt. I love the little coasters you sent me. They get a lot of use.
    Merry Christmas!!!

  • joan says:

    Oh so clever. I love reading about your quilting. The little block is so cute and OH the binding. Wish I knew how. Are you going to teach us?

    It is difficult for me to not be sewing at this time of year. Darn foot feed on the machine uses the right foot so I am just surfing and knitting waiting for Santa.
    Joan

  • Nicole says:

    How wonderful, Anita! I think the acorns are the cutest ever!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Little Acorns at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

