Must Have New Knitting!

October 9, 2007 § 5 Comments

In honor of finishing the knitting of Gary’s sweater, I’ve started another sweater.  The knitting is finished, mind you!  Not the weaving in of ends or the steeking.  But the knitting, none-the-less.  That in itself is a huge relief.

This sweater is for me.  It’s the infamous Must Have Cardigan.  I know everyone was knitting this a couple of years ago (or more!).  But, I’m kinda slow that way.  Coincidentally, I found the required yarn on sale at JoAnn Fabrics last winter.  It’s hard to resist a good sale!

I’m enjoying the cables.  It’s a nice change from all that fair isle nonsense.  Okay, I suppose it’s unfair to call the fair isle nonsense.  But after knitting that sweater twice, I’m done with fair isle for awhile.  This is a welcome change.

But I’m wondering… Do you all knit the stitches off the cable needle?  Or do you slip the stitches back onto the left needle and then continue knitting?  In the past I have knit straight off the cable needle.  For some odd reason, this time I’m slipping the stitches back onto the left needle and then continuing to knit. And I rather like that method for now.  Interesting how perspectives change over time.

§ 5 Responses to Must Have New Knitting!

  • shellssells says:

    I used to always knit from the cable needle. Now I find it easier to put them back on the needle. And then I don’t have to worry about what I am using to hold the stitches. At this point, when out, I have even used a toothpick. Works just fine if I am placing the stitches back on the needle!

  • Tami says:

    I always knit off the cable needle. Maybe I’ll try slipping them back on. I’m doing a “pain in my keester” cable pattern right now where I hold 1 in front on 1 cable needle, 3 in back on another needle then k1, k3 from back then k1 from front. I’m working on the sleeves….finally!

  • Tami says:

    By the way, I really like the color and the pattern of the must have cardigan! On my way to check out the pattern.

  • Nicole says:

    That sweater looks great! Lovely color, too.

    And to answer your question: My method varies, probably because I don’t knit cables that often and haven’t found out yet which way works actually better for me.

  • Irina says:

    Dear Anita,

    I was looking for the pattern of Must Have Cardi for months and cannot find the place where they would be selling it now. Patons website doesn’t have it for some reason😦 Could you please let me know where did you get yours? I would appreciate it a lot!

    Answering your question I never ever use a cable needle. It seems quite natural to me to slip the stitches back and forth between two needles to do a cable twist.

    And I really, really love the color you chose!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Must Have New Knitting! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

