Quilts, Quilts, Quilts

October 5, 2007 § 7 Comments

Interestingly, the results from my recent survey indicated that the most popular quilt size is the Twin. Is it because many of you are making quilts for your kids’ beds? I actually thought I would see more on the smaller end, so this surprised me a little bit.

The next quilt topic is shape! What is it that you love or hate about square quilts? I have to admit that I love square quilts. Mainly, because I’m lazy. I don’t have to think about the orientation. I just open it up and throw it over whatever… bed, sofa, laps and it works. But I know and have met some who adamantly dislike square quilts.  So… tell me what you like – or dislike about them.  I’m curious.  Thanks!

§ 7 Responses to Quilts, Quilts, Quilts

  • Jane Weston says:

    I, like you, like square shapes too. There is a lot less math involved and you don’t have to worry about the proportion…I always worry I’m going to make a quilt too long and skinny…I wonder if there is a magic ratio for figuring that out?

  • Juliann says:

    I like square quilts for pieced blocks but when I do applique, I tend to stretch them out to a rectangle. Often my quilts are almost square, like a 6block by 7 block quilt with only 6″ squares but mostly because I tend to get tired of making blocks and that is all I have.

  • joyce says:

    I like rectangles for bed quilts because they fit better but square for wall hangings.

  • Tami says:

    Now see, rectangles, square…their on the same level for me. I like them both equally as well.

  • Jes says:

    I like the look of square quilts, especially for bigger beds – like full/queen and for baby quilts. I’m not as fond for lap quilts, tho, because I’m kinda tall and it would have to be an overly big square to cover all of me. For that I like the rectangular quilts.

  • Angie says:

    I love square quilts, I don’t have one thing against them. like you said they don’t make you think!

  • Christina says:

    I like both square and rectangular quilts but for different reasons. To me, square quilts are good in that they can have symmetrical patterns, so they’re in a way easier to plan out. Rectangular quilts, however, I feel are more like “painting a picture”. As an architect, I think maybe I view the rectangular quilt as a fabric translation of an a4 page; and it feels like it somehow needs “anchoring”… Hum, I don’t think this made much sense, but thought I would put in my 2 pennies too;)

    all the best,
    Christina

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quilts, Quilts, Quilts at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

