Vintage Aprons

September 26, 2007 § 3 Comments

Awhile back Joan generously sent me this lovely vintage apron. I met Joan through Emily’s Dish Rag Tag. She found out that I like collecting vintage textiles and she had a few in her attic that needed a new home. Thank you SO much Joan!

I love the ruffle on this apron. But it’s too small to wrap around my waist. I think it might have been meant for a child or a doll?

Joan also sent me this lovely apron. This one fits me. I could wear it. But I’m not sure I would. When I cook, I practically need an apron armor. It never fails that whatever is not covered by the apron, that is where I end up spilling or splashing something. It was also giving me problems photographically. I finally hung it up next to the old Singer sewing machine in our guest bedroom. It seemed most happy there.

Maybe because, that’s the bedroom that happens to contain my collection of vintage baby clothing. I don’t know what it is about old textiles that draws me in. But I always gravitate towards them. Maybe it’s the history. Maybe it’s the memories of my own grandmothers. I remember ironing sheets with one of my grandmothers. And my other grandmother had a small wonderful sewing basket full of thread on wooden spools.

I’m not sure how I’m going to store these aprons. SouleMama hangs hers up in her kitchen. Then, there’s this great photo of an apron valance on Flickr. That intrigues me. We’ll see… who knows what will happen.

§ 3 Responses to Vintage Aprons

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vintage Aprons at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

