Split Personality

September 11, 2007 § 5 Comments

My LQS (local quilt shop), Gathering Fabric, is doing a block exchange with a quilt shop in France, Best of Quilting. There has been a lot of excitement about this. Of course, I haven’t been able to make up my mind about what kind of block to make. I’m suffering from Quilting Split-Personality Disorder.

My tastes in quilting run a wide spectrum. I love the antique, granny looking quilts. The vintage look gets me every time. But I also love the Kaffe, Amy, Westminster look as well. And, oh… the scrappy quilts. No two blocks made out of the same fabric or no real block pattern at all, they speak to me too. The Quilts of Gees Bend are amazing!

I think that’s why my decorating style ends up being so eclectic. I love it all and I can’t choose and stick to one theme. Love the red and white look of the 40’s & 50’s. Rustic, old, filled with character… love that too. Techno, streamlined, efficient…yup, that’s good too.

To solve my dilemma, I made two blocks. So there. *grin* Take your pick. Vintage or Modern. Scrappy or Planned. I’ve got it covered.

§ 5 Responses to Split Personality

  • Angie says:

    I think they are both wonderful! I love the color choices for the first one, although I really like the random no pattern look too. Hard decision, they both look great!

  • Christina says:

    Both are lovely quilt blocks:) If I had to choose though, I would choose the first one because I love the colours and patterns of the fabrics you chose:)

  • betsyms says:

    Wow, I just started quilting this year and both are beautiful. I am a little partial to the first one. It looks more like “me” but it is you who is the deciding factor…both are gorgeous. Good luck.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  • Amanda says:

    I guess I am like you: a split personality when it comes to quilting. I, too, love the vintage quilts, but then I love the more contemporary fabrics. I don’t care for “art” quilts, but I do admire the people who create them.

    I love both of the blocks.

  • Monica says:

    I like them both too, but I think the second one appeals to me a little more than the first

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Split Personality at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

