Monkey’n Around

July 23, 2007 § 8 Comments

The Monkey & the Crab baby quilt is finished. Yeah! The baby shower is Saturday. I have been loving this fabric!

Tied up with a bow and ready to go.

I loved the fabric so much that I had to make a coordinating doll quilt… for me! I think there will be a new rule for gifted quilts. There will need to be a coordinating doll quilt for each quilt that is given away. Don’t you think that is a good rule? Now, I just need to decide if I want to machine quilt it – or – learn how to hand quilt and make an additional rule that all doll quilts must be hand quilted. I’m not a hand quilter by nature. It would be a good challenge for me.

And… if you want to join me in my doll quilt mania, here’s a pattern of the Monkey’n Around Doll Quilt.

§ 8 Responses to Monkey’n Around

  • dailystitches says:

    fantastic color choices–my mom had our living room decorated in just this color scheme in the late 50s, early 60s–what incredible nostalgia washed over me when I saw this! Nicely done.

  • janet clare says:

    I can’t stand hand quilting – I really have to force myself to do it. But the results are incomparable…machine quilting is far too flat and uniform in my opinion. And hand quilting is only running stitch – I bet you can do that brilliantly.

  • Christina says:

    I came to your site through whipup and I just wanted to express how gorgeous I think your baby and doll quilts are:) I do not know whether you decided to handquilt or machine quilt your dollquilt but I thought I would send you a link to my very first handquilted item. I thought it was a lot of fun and I used different embroidery threads throughout; it was not hard and though it is not perfect, there is a different feel to it in my opinion. Here is the link to a post I posted on wardrobe refashion (look at towards the bottom half of the page):
    http://nikkishell.typepad.com/wardroberefashion/2007/08/bits-and-bobs.html
    Hope it might inspire you to give it a try. Though I can see you are a much better sewer than I, I think it can be a great experience to have done at least once:)”

    So thats my comment, hope you try hand-quilting your doll quilt if you haven’t already:)

    All the best,

    Christina

  • Cathy Burt says:

    Very cool baby quilt. I love the doll quilt to go with it. Good idea.

  • Mom Raggs says:

    Awesome quilt. Love the dolly quilt to. Got lots of stash. Maybe I can………….
    momraggs aka Joan inIL

  • grace says:

    i would love to make my niece a quilt like that. is it possible that you could email me the pattern?

  • grace says:

    oh never mind i just found it thanks!

  • It’s remarkable in support of me to have
    a site, which is good for my knowledge. thanks admin

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Monkey’n Around at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

