Keep Calm

July 3, 2007 § Leave a comment

This popular Keep Calm and Carry On poster came into my life via Victoria of sfgirlbybay who has a friend that picks them up in the UK for her. You can also order them straight from Barter Books in Alnwick Station, England. It may just take a bit of time to have it shipped to the U.S.

My poster had been languishing in it’s mailing tube for weeks until I mustered up the energy today to drive to Ikea for the frame and then to a frame shop for a mat. Even though the European frame fit the poster perfectly, somehow the mat did not. And the odd mat size threw off the frame shop at first.

But in the end, it’s hanging nicely at the end of our hallway to remind me to keep calm.

And so… I’ve been calmly working on a few Shop Hop Blocks.

It’s been kind of challenging to sort through all of the block instructions and fabrics. So, I basically tossed all the block fabrics into a pile and made a copy of the poster that shows each block. Then, I started pulling pieces of fabric from the pile and scraps from my scrap bin to make each block, one block at a time. And I’m trying not to get to emotional and fussy about it. My only requirement is to actually use a sizable amount of the Shop Hop Fabric in each block. We’ll see. I also have plans to put some sort of alternating block between each Shop Hop Block so it doesn’t look so sampler-ish. Capiche?

And… I’m trying to calmly anticipate my High School Reunion at the end of the week. I really haven’t seen any of my classmates since graduation. And I’m tempted to freak out just a little bit. High School was such a long time ago!

Happy Independence Day to everyone!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Keep Calm at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

