The state of my progress.. or is it procrastination..

August 11, 2014 § 7 Comments

August-state-of-studio

I know that many people join up with finishing parties to get them motivated to finish their projects.  But, I have a hard time committing to my LONG list of UFO’s.  It’s so intimidating to look at the list and then think about how much time & effort it is going to take to finish ALL of them!

However…  my piles of unfinished or half started projects is getting out of control.  So, I’ve come up with a plan to trick my procrastination thought process and make some finishing progress.  I just can’t bear the thought of counting all of my projects in process.  But I can handle choosing two or three to work on at the same time with specific achievable goals.

low-volume-quilting

Ironically,  and really, I should already know this…. but while trudging through the quilting of my low volume quilt I have found that my quilting is improving and I am becoming more relaxed about it.  I only commit to quilting two rows each day.  One across and one back.  This has been accomplishing two things. First, I am slowly making progress towards finishing this HUGE quilt.  And secondly,  it really is putting into practice that sage advice that we all know but hate to admit… that practice does make perfect.  It takes about 30-40 minutes to stitch across the quilt and back.  And that allotted amount of time is enough to be able to stitch a little each day without becoming overwhelmed.  And if I’m feeling ambitious, I stitch one session in the morning and one session in the afternoon.  I’m only 2-3 days away from finishing this baby!!!

steam-punk-blocks

Another discovery that I made is that focusing on one project makes for quickly becoming bored and dreading the finishing of it.  I begin to hate what I originally loved.  So a little piecing breaks up the monotony of free-motion quilting. And I make a little progress on another project in process.

Gathering Fabric, the shop where I work, was going to do a fabric exchange for the Steam Punk quilt in the 100th issue of QuiltMania.  But we need a few more folks to sign up!!  So  here’s a shout out to all you local peeps who were thinking about it.  Come join us in exchanging fabrics to make this fabulous quilt!!

- – – – -

Projects in process in top photo:

Design wall top to bottom -
scrappy log cabin, Do.Good.Stitches castle blocks, Kaleidoscope II with printed fabrics

Ironing board top to bottom -
Crazy Snowflakes, Random Sampler, Brrrr Park, Garden Medallion in French General fabrics

 

§ 7 Responses to The state of my progress.. or is it procrastination..

  • Good to pick a small, doable set of things to work on. The Stashbusters Yahoo group often talks about the Fab Four. Just pick FOUR of however many UFOs, and work on them. How you pick them doesn’t even matter. Could be the 4 smallest/quickest to finish — maybe all they need is binding and labels, for example. But wow wouldn’t it be great to say you have 4 finishes? That positive reinforcement would carry a person into the next 4 pretty quickly.

  • Beth says:

    Anita, I appreciated SO much reading your scheme for staying motivated to finish projects AND that you are slogging through a huge quilt! So many of the bloggers I read whip out 1 after another, but so many are small– couch throws, pillows, wall hangings, crib quilts…. I like making bed-sized quilts, and it’s nice to read someone working through issues I can relate to! Thanks!

  • Lettyb says:

    I just love your projects – feel as if I have a vested interest in you finishing so I can oogle them!

  • Ok, you’ve just put into words (and print) what I’ve been trying to do all my quilting life. Your design wall looks like mine, I have to see lots of variety and know that I have options. I keep saying ‘baby steps’ …. and hoping that eventually I’ll (magically) have completed some of my WIPs :)
    Good luck finishing that gorgeous Low Volume quilt!

  • Heidi says:

    Your projects look so beautiful and tidy! I also like to have several areas of progress at the same time. Lately it has been a lot of smalls – I look forward to tackling another big finish, hopefully soon! The quilting on your low volume looks very natural and smooth – it is going to be a really sweet quilt:-)

  • Christine says:

    I have far too many UFO’s, I’m aiming to finish some but the problem is I keep starting new quilts. I think I love the excitement of a new found quilt
    idea/pattern.

  • Oh…I want to come by to see all these Lovely Ladies!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading The state of my progress.. or is it procrastination.. at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 569 other followers

