Copenhagen

August 5, 2014 § 2 Comments

copenhagen-j-g-g

I’m still trying to return to my own time zone and embrace our usual routine. But it is hard. I always have a hard time going home.

Gary, his sister and I decided that we needed to make a trip to Copenhagen where his niece, husband and daughter are living.  We had no idea that it was going to be in the middle of a heat wave!  Most days were plus or minus 80 degrees. Which doesn’t sound all that bad. But there is something about the sun on the cobblestone & brick buildings. It was warm.  There isn’t much air conditioning to speak of either. Normally, they don’t need it. Like Seattle, it is generally a cool & mild climate.  We even slept with the door & window open in our hotel room to try and get a cool breeze through it at night.  Despite the heat, I loved Copenhagen.  The healthy food, the bicycling and the walking are what I wish our lifestyle could be like at home.  But alas, our country is stuck on junk food, cars, and a more sedentary lifestyle. Sigh.

nyhavn

nyhavn building

Of course, we had to see many of the usual touristy things.  Nyhavn canal was hot & filled with tourists. But the colorful buildings are to die for!

copenhagen-bicycles

We bought 3-day Metro passes in the beginning that could be used on the trains & buses. When they expired we rented bikes for a day and rode everywhere!  There are a few more photos on my Instagram feed.

copenhagen-windows

royal-jewels

royal-palace

These were just a few of the photos we took.  Gary took many of the photos in Copenhagen. And I only took a few.  It was too hot to carry the DSLR and I ended up using my iPhone more often.  Plus, we were on the go most of the time and I am more of a rambling tourist. I like to stop and savor, take in the details and try to feel the culture.

On the way home we stopped in Iceland. Since we would have normally flown over it to get to Copenhagen, we decided to take the opportunity to visit. More photos to come.

§ 2 Responses to Copenhagen

  • So fun to see your pretty pictures and hear your thoughts about your trip. I’m pretty certain there is much of the world I will never see (my husband is NOT a traveler), so I love seeing the experiences others have :o)

  • Irena says:

    How lovely for you to visit other cultures did you see any Craft type things ?

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Copenhagen at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 564 other followers

