Wonder Clips vs. Binding Clips

July 21, 2014 § 20 Comments

wonder-clips

This may be blasphemous to say in the quilting world…  and I’m certain I am in the crazy minority…  but I am not a big fan of the Wonder Clips.  They are all the rage right now.

Let me explain myself and you can judge me if you like.  See how the red half of the Wonder Clip curves?  Well, it doesn’t keep my binding flat unless I put the clip on upside down.  I guess upside down is okay. But it kind of bugs me.  So I haven’t been using them.

binding-clips

These are the older binding clips that look like hair barrets from the 70’s.  That’s what I use.  See how it keeps my binding nice and flat?  Mmmm Hmmm.  I know.  Go ahead and judge me.  I can take it.

sock-clips

But I did discover that the Wonder Clips aren’t completely useless.  They are perfect for holding my sock knitting needles while traveling. Ha!

sock-clips-again

See how that curve so perfectly accommodates the needles and a little bit of the sock? Yup!  It works quite nicely.

However, I will give the Wonder Clips an extra point in their favor.  They definitely have a strong grip. So maybe they can be used for things other than sewing binding.  Now I just need to find something to sew where I might need a strong grip to hold the parts together while I’m stitching.  Maybe something with the laminated fabric I have stashed away in my closet?

You can now go back to your regularly scheduled day. Thanks for listening.

§ 20 Responses to Wonder Clips vs. Binding Clips

  • I use hair clips. Likely they are cheaper purchased in the hair care aisle. :)

  • Interesting to hear your experience with Wonder Clips. When they first started popping up I was so tempted to buy some…but they are so expensive. I tried some nifty plastic clips from WalMart (office supply section), but discovered that I really prefer to just use straight pins. We quilters can really get caught up in gadgets :)

  • Lizzie says:

    I haven’t found them where I live, but I know a quilter who found something similar looking in an outlet store, in the hardware section. I use clothespins and I’ve been known to use hairpins occasionally. But I’ve only done lap quilt size…….

  • I am learning soooo much!

  • Heidi says:

    hehe, enjoyed the post :-)
    I have not been tempted to buy new clips – they seem bulky and I don’t need anything that can catch on thread. My ’70’s’ barrettes have been working well for year’s.

  • Joyce says:

    I haven’t purchased them because they are expensive, but if I ever find one I will use it in my knitting. Good idea Anita! Thanks for the post. Happy Monday!

  • Lettyb says:

    Well over the 200+ quilts I’ve made, quilted, and bound myself, I have not ever pinned or clipped. I just use my finger strength to turn and hold the binding as I go, and I’ve never had any problems at all. I now want to buy some of the clips for knitting though!

  • Sylvia Y says:

    I am in total agreement with Lettyb!

  • DianeY says:

    I agree! I much prefer the binding clips. I usually do my binding all by machine and they hold it so nicely

  • Dominique says:

    I feel the need to say something is support of the Wonder Clips. Love them! love them! love them! But i am a big believer in the “whatever works for you” theory, so i am glad you are using something that works for you and are not getting sucked in to using a product just because other people love it. Would be pretty boring if we all used the same notions/fabrics/patterns/methods and all made the same quilt!

  • Pam says:

    I’m a hair-clip user from way back. I hand-stitch my bindings and have never used more than two clips at once. Wonder Clips are quite expensive and I would never dream of putting them in my hair! Take care, Pam

  • Irena says:

    I agree with you. Prefer the old hair clip style ones.

  • Melissa says:

    I’m not a huge fan, either. I have a pack of 10, and rarely use them! Of course, I glue baste my binding so it’s down and down good! :) I will use them to clip rows of blocks together between the design wall and the sewing machine, though.

  • Sharon G says:

    I have the hair clip style myself and they work great for me!

  • Lu Ann says:

    I do better just holding the binding down with my hand as I sew. I seem to get my thread caught on any clip that I try to use.

  • I use wonder clips when I’m sewing the side seams on our 3D containers and they work great! I haven’t tried them on binding yet, though…

  • Paula says:

    I love the Wonder Clips! I use them on denim quilts and they hold the binding so well. My hair clips kept popping open and weren’t as secure allowing the binding to creep out of place. I’m finding more and more uses for them. Right now I’m using them to keep me building block sets together, so I don’t mix them up and forget which pieces make one block. I also use them to hold the 2 pieces together as I hand-piece them.
    They are expensive, but with my 40% coupon to a popular craft store I saved a lot!

  • I am also not a fan of the Wonder Clip which is way way overpriced. There is another brand out there that is like a white coated plastic and it is also over priced. I picked up a bag of colored ones that are just like those and they are like 9 for a dollar at Dollar Tree.

  • I forgot, while you are knitting those socks please do a pair for me. :)

  • Suzan says:

    I use the Wonder Clips for holding pieces of vinyl and/or leather when making purses. They are great for anything that you just cannot pin like laminated fabrics or clear plastic.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wonder Clips vs. Binding Clips at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

