The road back home

June 9, 2014 § 18 Comments

reaching-out-applique

We traveled back to Minnesota to take care of a few of my mom’s things.  I brought back this project she was working on.  I’m hoping that I will be able to finish it. But I’m not  very good at needle-turn applique.  She had all the fabric & thread in a bag.  We shall see…  The pattern is Reaching Out by Laundry Basket Quilts.

state-line

A gravel road separates Minnesota and Iowa.  The State Line – left is Iowa, right is Minnesota.

batik-storm-at-sea-whole

Here is another quilt top that my mom made.  I’m not sure what she had in mind or what pattern she might have been using. But she loved batiks and this reminds me so much of her.  It looks like a regular Storm at Sea block layout.  It’s only 38″ x 50″.

batik-storm-at-sea

I wonder if I should find a few more batiks & make it bigger?  Or add a border to make it bigger?  I like it right now without a border, but it’s not a useable size for me.

farm-trees

Trees on my dad’s farm. He lives in Iowa. It was a busy trip.  And it was sad to say good-bye.  But I’m glad I was able to bring home some memories.  I just can’t put it all into words right now.

§ 18 Responses to The road back home

  • Whiskers says:

    We’ve just gotten acquainted, but I would gather your mother has recently passed away. My condolences. I walked this road 14 yrs ago, and sometimes, it doesn’t seem that long.

    You might want to work on the applique project as it may be a block of the month project, and you won’t want the up-coming parts to get away from you, even if you just purchase them and put them away for a while. It might be a soothing place to start. I would leave the storm at sea the size it is. It could become a wall hanging, but “aging” won’t hurt it.

    It was at least 6 months after my mother’s passing that I had any creative energy or urges to invest in any project. Be patient. It takes time.

  • Viv says:

    Your Mom’s quilting is beautiful, something for you to treasure and to nuture your memories. Sending cyber hugs your way. In New Zealand we would say “Kia Kaha” which means “stay strong”.

  • Debbie says:

    The lost of a mother is such a hard loss no matter your age. My prayers are with you as you travel the road, your mother will always be with you in your heart.

  • Your mom was such a talented lady, and you’re so fortunate to have her beautiful projects to finish. Edyta’s patterns are all so amazing, I would certainly want to work on that one, and I think I would try to keep the batik quilt just as it is for now, since you’re uncertain. It will wait for you. Thank you for sharing your journey, Anita…I hope it helps you to work through your sadness (hug).

  • Linda Blum says:

    I knew and loved your mom for years, Anita. We were in Guild together and hosted the monthly meeting projects as a team for one year. You were one of them – remember coming to Bevcomm’s conference room and teaching EQ6 to our gang? Thanks again! We no longer live in Blue Earth, but I always knew when I swung through, I would get to see your mom. What a privilege to have had her as a friend. She was so very proud of you, Girl.

  • jeannegwin says:

    Anita, My heart and eyes are weeping for you and your loss. I so remember losing my mother and then my dad 10 months later, I was just sure that life as I had known it was over and I was right. It has been many years but I still catch myself thinking “I should go call mom and dad and see how they are”. But now it just brings on good memories for me. I still get sad they are gone, they missed out on 2 really great grandkids but they see how they turned out and I am sure they are proud as punch. Hugs and warm, healing thoughts coming your way. Beautiful memories you brought home with you. How about maybe cutting the quilt down to a wall hanging size and put it in one of your bedrooms?

  • Wanda Dotson says:

    I went through this many years ago when my mother died. She had a crochet piece, attached to the thread with the needle stuck into the thread. I could have finished it but it looked like “the last stitch”. Maybe you should take some time before you dive into those “unfinished” quilts and breathe.

  • Susan McGirr says:

    Just passing what I think I know of the Storm at Sea. I believe it to be a John Flynn laser cut kit. It would be finished at that size and intended to be a wall hanging. He makes them in various sizes and sells them at shows. At least I have one of his kits and believe it to be the same as yours.

    I am sorry to hear of your loss. Eventually you may wish to finish your mother’s quilts – just give yourself some time.

  • Joni says:

    Anita, I love your Mom’s unfinished quilt. I too am fascinated by batiks. I think the size of it could work for a few things. I have a coffee table, it has a glass display for a top. I keep treasures in it, my fathers watch, my son’s Purple Heart, things like that. But a small folded quilt would be perfect also. I always admire the old trunks, that others have converted to glass top quilt storage coffee tables too. But I was thinking a wall hanging, or a small throw for the back of your couch maybe. Its very pretty…..I know the perfect answer will come to mind soon. The picture of your Dad’s trees, it is beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

  • Jeanie says:

    Sending you hugs. The applique work is beautiful! And that storm at sea is a great start to making a memento of your mom. Let it gel for a while to see it’s personality. I’m sure it will tell you how to proceed.

    See you Thursday. Got my class stuff prepped and ready to go!

  • Izzy says:

    A big hug Anita !!

  • Irena says:

    My condolences you you my mother passed away almost 3 years ago and I miss her greatly. It is lovely that you have such lovely quilt projects to finish and remember her by. god bless you and bring you peace

  • nicolette says:

    It must by so soothing that your Mum loved to quilt and I gather she taught you the how to’s? Her quilts are wonderful memories. Take the time to figure out what you want to do with them. Just be in the moment and carefully heal!

  • Lettyb says:

    The applique is absolutely beautiful. I hear your turmoil and sadness. It’s a process that you’re working through, and as everyone says, it will get better. How lovely that you can honor your Mom by sharing her projects and completing them.

  • Lostinspace says:

    Quilting is what I concentrate on because when I am gone I want my children to have something to remember me by and this work of your Mum’s is certainly serving a purpose. I hope that as you finish her work it will help you heal and think about all the good times.

  • You mom’s quilts are beautiful and I think it’s wonderful you took the projects with you. I hope that they bring you joy and happiness through good memories of your mother.

  • Such beauty in the work started by your mom. I find that as time has gone by I tend to treasure most that which I knew brought my mom joy. You probably sense the same thing with these quilted pieces from your mom. Lifting you in prayer Anita.

  • Donna Steele says:

    Miss Julie so much!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading The road back home at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 564 other followers

