Got the Kindle covered

May 17, 2014 § 9 Comments

kindle-front

I made a Kindle cover!  I had some mini charms lurking in my stash and this seemed like a good thing to make with them.  It feels a bit granny. But whatever.  I need to use up what I have.

kindle-back

A couple of weeks ago I stitched the squares together.  And today I decided that I needed to finish one thing. Just one thing!  I’m having such a hard time finishing anything these days.

kindle-timbuk2

All I did was trace around this Timbuk2 one that we have.  Blatant copycat, I am.  It works. Why re-invent the wheel?

soft-stable

What I used as the padding is this Soft & Stable that I have had sitting around for quite awhile. At the time, the shop only had it in black. Not the best to use with white fabric. But it’s what I had.  It’s got a little foam in the middle. It’s not as sturdy as the Timbuk2 one, but it’s quite a bit better than plain old batting.

I see that it’s not raining so I’d better go work on the mess in the garden.  The mess in the sewing room will have to wait.

§ 9 Responses to Got the Kindle covered

  • This is great! Granny or not, nice to be using your stash, even the black stabilizer. I keep meaning to make an iPad cover….one of these days. I’ve used existing patterns like this many times. You’re not a copycat, just ‘inspired’ by a previous cover :)

  • Lettyb says:

    Mighty cute – I like your design, well copy a lot! I’ve never used Soft & Stable, may need some. Just call me CopyCat!

  • Viv says:

    I’m having the same problem with finishing stuff lately. I got one thing finished yesterday and some gardening, so i will try to do the same today. I don’t think the kindle cover is granny, I love the colors, especailly the binding.

  • By the way, I wasn’t inferring your cover ‘is’ granny…..just saying even if ‘you’ think it is. I actually think it’s pretty sweet :)

  • Mary Carroll says:

    So happy to see your ‘mess in the sewing room’! I guess I’m not the only messy sewist around. :)

  • lynn says:

    This is really cute!!! And it can’t be granny if the technology is younger than my school aged kids!!!

  • Debbie says:

    I too do not seem to be able to get anything finished so can feel for you. Love this little Kindle Cover. I have been wanting to make one for Hubby with a embroidered Raven or books on the front. I have been thinking about using car liner for the protection part of it. Thanks for the great ideas.

  • pratima says:

    It feels so nice to use up things at hand! Fun shape and colorful prints makes it very cute! It’s been a while since I said hello, hope you are doing great, Anita!

  • The little charm squares are so sweet and cute! Looks great!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Got the Kindle covered at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 565 other followers

