A few of my favorite things

April 15, 2014 § 5 Comments

ballet-slippers-top
ballet-slippers-side
crabapple-2014

I know people say this all the time… but where has my week gone?  In between or at least in the evenings I’ve caught the knitting bug.  This is my second pair of the Mohair Ballet Slippers.  These are going to be given to my sister-in-law.  It feels good to be using up yarn from the stash!

Random quirky fact… these were my favorite colors in high school.  Spring or lime green – the color of the leaves in the spring when they first come out – and yellow.  I wish I had a photo of my ruffly, totally 70’s bedroom.  You would laugh.  I am not a ruffly kind of girl so I don’t know where that came from.

Everything is bursting into bloom right now.  And on the random sunny day like we had yesterday, it is glorious!  The crab apple tree is getting ready to bloom.  So are the lilacs.  The flowering current is already blooming along with the rosemary.  The tulips are nearing the end of their season.  And I put some compost on the raspberries & rhubarb.  I love urban gardening!  I even bought a blueberry bush yesterday.  We just need to figure out where to plant it.  If we had just a little bit more property we would get some chickens in a heartbeat!  Our city requires at least a quarter of an acre, though we know that there are some neighbors who aren’t following that rule.

A side note…  last year we planted micro clover in our yard. It is supposed to be good for the soil, putting nitrogen back into it which in turn helps make the grass stronger & healthier and then hopefully makes it harder for the moss to grow.  We do have a reason for our madness!  However… we didn’t spread the clover very evenly in the back yard and it looks like mostly clover and hardly any grass.  Oh well.  At least it is green.

Slipper stats:

Yarn – Cascade 220, this yarn felts nicely and not too fuzzy like the first (Ravelry link) pair of slippers I made.
Size – Small
Pattern – Mohair Ballet Slippers from the book Felted Knits, the sole is a double thickness so I knit the inside yellow and the outside green.

§ 5 Responses to A few of my favorite things

  • Sandy Sorenson says:

    So pretty and “springy.” Happy feet!

  • I love these photos, Anita! Oh, how I’d love a pair of these pretty slippers, I liked the super fuzzy ones you made, too. This was also a favorite color of mine in high school….in fact, I like most shades of green. I love the clover as much as the lawn :)

  • Letty says:

    I totally want those slippers! love the colors you used – and they look so good on the clover you’re going to have to tell your SIL to plant some quickly!

  • Lynn says:

    Those slippers are great!! And loving your spring pictures. Spring was my favorite season when I lived up north. Fall is now my favorite season since I live in Central Florida. Seems my favorite season is whatever is after an oppressive season!

  • Love Love Love the wooly slippers Anita! You got me thinking about clover…I wonder if we should look into it? We have 30+ oak trees on approx a half acre of land and it’s so hard to grow grass. The last few years we’ve begun to have a lot of moss…which I don’t mind, but it does not hold up well to dogs, and then we end up with mud.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading A few of my favorite things at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 571 other followers

