Joyful Sewing

January 31, 2014 § 6 Comments

I ran across this article at Sew Mama Sew with tips for enjoying your sewing and just had to pass it on to you.  I love all the tips but I especially like point number 5:

Don’t box yourself in with a label. Modern or traditional. Quilter or generalist. Seamstress or sewist. Team pachycephalosaurus or team ankylosaurus.  There aren’t any rules, so be who you want to be.

And is the big destash across Instagram a result of point number 7?

For some time now it has been my mission to reclaim the joy of making that has been a part of my life since I was a wee lass.

- – – -

And because no post should be without a photo… I decided to pull another photo from my Instagram feed.  These are blocks from the ladies of the Faith circle of Do.Good.Stitches that I am assembling. We donate quilts to Restore Innocence, an organization who rescues young girls from human trafficking.

§ 6 Responses to Joyful Sewing

  • lynne says:

    Thanks for passing on that article. I’m guilty of trying to label my quilting, but I like so many different things, that I gave up trying to pin down my “style”. The influence of Gwen Marston and Freddy Moran really taught me to have fun with my quilting.
    The hardest part for me would be working on only one or two projects at a time. Not going to happen. Since taking up crocheting in the last 2 years, I have now added yarn to the stash, creating an even bigger WIP monster in my closet. Aint it fun?

  • What a great article! Thanks for pointing us to it Anita ;o) I agree with the comments and sentiment it was written in. Here’s to joy in all areas of our lives!

  • Jeanie says:

    I like the fact I don’t have a set style.One local shop owner (Susan at GF) said once that I like a bit of everything. And yes, that’s true. That’s how I try to keep it fresh.

  • Thanks for linking to this article, Anita, lots of good insight. I used to consider myself mostly a traditional quilter, but I’ve expanded to many different areas, not only in quilting but in everything I do. Feels good to know that I’m still evolving :)

  • Natasha says:

    I love inspiration like this! When I discovered that there really were no rules, quilting and sewing in general opened up in a whole new way. Thanks for sharing.

  • I want to try something like this soon. I love the crookedness look of it. Very interesting to just keep looking at :)

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Joyful Sewing at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 561 other followers

