The year in review

December 31, 2013 § 12 Comments

a few things started...

And what a year it has been.  I started a few things…

1. Scrappy Log Cabin blocks that I just started last week during our Christmas stay-cation. (and am addicted to at the moment)
2. Asteria quilt top… I can’t wait to get this one quilted! I just bought some backing for it. Nine WHOLE yards of backing!
3. The Random Sampler… which is sorely in need of finishing!  (I’m sorry for letting this one fall through the cracks). You should see Lotje’s Random Sampler. GORGEOUS!
4. The APQ Tone it Down QAL. (I can’t find a good link with info. It’s in the Feb. 2014 issue – currently on news stands – of American Patchwork & Quilting. But it’s the good old Burgoyne Surround block, so I just used EQ to draw up mine.)  I really want to come back to this one soon.  Maybe even throw a block in between projects while I try to finish a few other things. UPDATE:  Someone sent me this link to A Quilting Life as a good starting point for more information.
5. Medallion Quilt started at an awesome Gwen Marston workshop.
6. All of the backgrounds for the Merry Merry Snowman quilt.  I think this one is going to be my go-to project to take to sewing group this year.
7. A stash-only log cabin style quilt that I’d forgotten about but really should finish because it was going to be a gift.

a few things finished...

I finished a few things…  When I started putting this together I really felt like I hadn’t accomplished much.  But in fact, the great thing about this post is that I really did do something this last year.  It’s been a long time since I’ve felt really well.  Three years ago I was struggling with insomnia.  I’m sleeping better most nights now and I’m hoping that it will get even better this next year.  But the one thing that I’ve learned is Don’t. Panic.  There will just be unproductive days and that is OK.  This life of making things is not a race.  It should be a joy. And so I feel like I’ve finally given it the proper place in my life.  Joy. Not obligation.

1. Christmas quilts that were given away just a week ago.
2. Last minute Christmas “bags instead of stockings“.
3. Bear Paw pj bottoms for my hubby.
4. 2011 BeeFF Flickr group quilt.
5. Holiday Plaid quilt – email me if you would like a pattern. I still need to add it to my web site. (kits no longer available)
6. Pinwheel quilt – blocks made by the Do.Good.Stitches Faith Circle on Flickr and quilt assemble by me.
7. Bars (Upon Thars) quilt – pattern available here.
8. Scrappy Trip Around the World given to a dear friends of ours.
9. Socks for me.
10. “Hot” potholders made for a friend who was supplying the grand prize for a chili cook-off at her church.
11. Sparkle #2 – blocks made by the Do.Good.Stitches Faith Circle and quilt assemble by me.
12. Sweater for my hubby. Moorhouse by Martin Storey
13. Sparkle #1 – blocks made by the Do.Good.Stitches Faith Circle and quilt assemble by me.
14. Socks for my hubby. Actually, I think I may have finished them in 2012 and photographed them in 2013??  I’ve lost track.  :)
15. Socks for my sister-in-law. Spring Forward in Knitty, Summer 2008

a few things dug out of the UFO pile...

I even dug out a few UFO’s from the closet…

1. A French General version of my Garden Medallion that I am aiming to hand quilt with big-stitch quilting.
2. Some Kaffe Fasett yo yo’s that are crying to be made into a cushion.
3. And my poor, poor Christmas quilt that I was pebble quilting the corners two Christmases ago and just didn’t like. So this Christmas I picked out the pebble quilting and started hand quilting with a a contrasting pearl cotton.  I’m anxious to get this one finished. I like it SO much better now.

A few charity blocks...

I made a few blocks for charity…  Primarily for the Faith Circle of Do.Good.Stitches.  And a couple for Clothworks’ Everything Blue charity quilt.  This is another joy that has surprised me. When I joined Do.Good.Stitches I still wasn’t feeling well and had doubts about my follow-through. Well, the group has just been great and the blocks, even the quilts, have not been a burden.  It’s a joy to sew blocks and humbling to think about the girls at Restore Innocence who are receiving the quilts.  If all other quilting falls away, this is one place that I want to keep going as long as I can.

And… we gained two new members to our family, Stella and Charlie.  They have been more fun than we ever imagined!  We are blessed!  May the next year be filled with more joy than the last.

§ 12 Responses to The year in review

  • Happy New Year Anita!! I enjoy your blog and the things you create. Most of all I enjoy you and your spirit! Thank you for sharing a little part of yourself. I am always inpsired by your loveliness!!

  • Wow, you had a very productive year, considering all of life’s distractions (or even not considering them). Isn’t it wonderful to see them all lined up to remind you of how much you’ve done! So many of your projects are things that have been on my to-do list for some time…and several are WIPs in my project stash, too. I’ve said this before…..your Wisteria quilt is one of my all time favorite things ever…it is beyond beautiful. Thanks for all the inspiration :)

  • Lotje says:

    Yes indeed, your blog also is a wonderful creation, I always love reading it! It inspirers sweetness and balance, just like your work. I hope you receive as much back from it. I wish you the very best for the new year!

  • Cheers and Happy New Year!

  • audrey says:

    So glad to hear you’re finding your balance. I think the act of putting ourselves out there on the Net can make us feel pressure to create and that’s really not what quilting/creating should be about. Great to see all your lovely starts and finishes.:)

  • Sarah Marie says:

    Such a beautifully productive year. Just gorgeous and inspiring projects. Best wishes for continued joy and quilting. And happy New Year!

  • Joni says:

    Wow, you got a lot of things done, and they must have brought joy to the ones blessed by receiving them. I didn’t even finish my first project so far. I am the worst procrastinator. I am sorry you have not felt well, I think I read where you were having some trouble absorbing vitamins. I am saddened when I hear of anyone not feeling well, and may be of some help to you with some natural ideas. I leaned so very much after what I have been through. If you are up to hearing a few things I have found to be helpful for regaining health, please email me. I would be happy to share what has helped me.
    God Bless you and your hubby and furkids.

  • Debra says:

    Hi Anita you’ve certainly had a productive year.It is lovely to look back and see all the projects you’ve made during the year. I haven’t even managed a blogpost for 2 months! Glad to see you’ve found your mojo again :). All the best for a happy productive new year!

  • nicolette says:

    My heart melts when I look at Stella and Charlie’s picture. We’re still on the look out for a new furry member of the family. They can bring so much joy to our lifes. As well as quilting can!
    Love your wonderful 2013 projects!
    Here’s to a 2014 filled with love, health and creativity!

  • pratima says:

    Hi Anita, wish you a very happy, healthy and creative New Year! It is always exciting to see your beautiful works! Stella and Charlie are adorable!

  • You really did have a productive year…even with the struggles! And, such beauty was created :o) Just love Stella & Charlie!!

  • Beautiful all of it. As beautiful of a person as you. I like the use of color, in the different projects. Wishing you a Happy New Year. Yesterday it was -1, still in bed snugging under your quilt. Meredith

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading The year in review at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 565 other followers

