Thankful Thursday

December 26, 2013 § 8 Comments

scrappy-log-cabin-process

scrappy-process

scrappy-messy-room

This week I’m thankful for:

~ a quiet week spent at home with my hubby
~ time to spend playing with my red & white scraps
~ movies & snuggling on the sofa
~ a fire in the fireplace
~ dear local friends
~ all of you dear internet friends who come to visit here & encourage me…Thank you!

- – – – -

The scrappy mess started with just ironing while I tried to decide what I wanted to do with them. There are So. Many. Options… and then I decided that I probably have enough scraps for two quilts. So I just jumped in and started sewing scrappy log cabin blocks. It feels good to leave behind any goals and just play for a bit.

§ 8 Responses to Thankful Thursday

  • I’m still in goal-mode… I know part of my brain would like to play, but the other part says, “if you work hard, you can get the binding on that big quilt today…” blech… So guess what I’m working on — the binding! Not sure that’s the best use of me today. I need a nap…
    :) Have a wonderful week of cuddling, play, and rest.

  • Jackie says:

    Goals are great but not so much if they eliminate the fun. Glad you’re playing!

  • audrey says:

    Love your red fabrics. So yummy looking. It’s really good to make time for play occasionally with quilting. Some of the best quilts come from a very quiet place within us.:)

  • Elisabeth says:

    Merry Christmas, Anita! Your snippets look lovely! Happy Quilting!

  • Oh how I love the red and white. I went “scrappy crazy” doing “artful oven mitts” earlier in the month; reaching into my scrap baskets and just joining what ever fit, occasionally going to the iron to press seams and to the cutting table to square up. In an afternoon, I “created” a piece of fabric 60×30, which I cut into oven mitts! I ended up making 11 mitts, and it WAS relaxing and fun, and the scrap baskets now have room for more bits!! (And I had some impromptu gifts!!)

  • I also love making log cabin blocks, have one in progress. Is that the APQ Tone It Down quilt block on your table? I have all my fabrics chosen but haven’t had time to start cutting yet. Hopefully, one of these days….
    Happy New Year, Anita :)

  • Tricia says:

    Am I the only one who finds the “mess” of scraps on the floor gorgeous?! I have my scraps tucked away in bins and boxes–now I think I should just leave them in piles everywhere…Thank you for the inspiration!
    Tricia

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thankful Thursday at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 569 other followers

